Sundays After Pentecost, Year B 2023 – 24: Psalm Passage – Gentle Power & Love beyond our reckoning reaching out to us: Preacher & Seeker speak of it

Preacher: “I will extol you, O LORD, for you have drawn me up, and did not let my foes rejoice over me.” I am thinking of the psalmist as King David and reflecting back on his triumph over Goliath. And how that was the early beginnings of his reign. Or before, when he was singled out by the prophet Samuel.

Seeker: “O LORD my God, I cried to you for help, and you have healed me.”
Or the author of Lamentations when he realizes that his God has rescued him and will rescue him again and again.

Preacher: “O LORD, you brought up my soul from Sheol, restored me to life from among those gone down to the Pit.”

Seeker: “Sing praises to the LORD, O you his faithful ones, and give thanks to his holy name.”

Preacher: “For his anger is but for a moment; his favor is for a lifetime. Weeping may linger for the night, but joy comes with the morning.”
I mourn for them, whether it is King David as the psalmist or the author of Lamentations. For even a moment to feel the anger of the Lord. I am in midst of another down and difficult time. But I do not think for a moment – nay, not a millisecond – that it is because of the Lord God’s anger. Some of the reasons I know, and some sadly I do not. But it is only because of my faith and hope in the Divine that I am able to live through the days and nights.

Seeker: “As for me, I said in my prosperity, “I shall never be moved.”
Your “prosperity”, Preacher, IS your faith and hope. And I know that even if you are shaken and moved to distress & despair, you faith and hope is not.

Preacher: “By your favor, O LORD, you had established me as a strong mountain; you hid your face; I was dismayed.”
That is true, Seeker. I speak that not in my favor but the Power & Love that can under gird anyone. I have seen that in your life too, Seeker. Faith and conviction, and staking all in hope in the Lord – you have come through many things as well.

Seeker: “To you, O LORD, I cried, and to the LORD I made supplication: “What profit is there in my death, if I go down to the Pit? Will the dust praise you? Will it tell of your faithfulness? Hear, O LORD, and be gracious to me! O LORD, be my helper!”
Yes, Preacher, I can see and understand why you would mourn for them. These pleas for petition & intercession speak to a need that only the Holy Presence could groan for – using the apostle Paul’s metaphor. Praise to the Divine that as the believing and faithful generations have grown, strong faith and hope, and yes conviction, has come about.

Preacher: “You have turned my mourning into dancing; you have taken off my sackcloth and clothed me with joy, so that my soul may praise you and not be silent. O LORD my God, I will give thanks to you forever.” (Psalm 30)
And may our testimony, Seeker, encourage and enrich this generation and the generations to come.

Seeker: Shalom & Selah!

Your comments are welcome

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.