Living in a world that hates you

“This is the message you heard from the beginning: We should love one another. Do not be like Cain, who belonged to the evil one and murdered his brother. And why did he murder him? Because his own actions were evil and his brother’s were righteous. Do not be surprised, my brothers, if the world hates you.” (1 John 3:11-13 )

Once in a while I have a hard time making my way in this world. Not everyone one sets their priorities in the same way, and they do not operate from a basis and foundation of love and caring. I am sure you are not surprised by that. I am not either; but what I am surprised at is how this fact gets played out in the world. I was reminded of that today in very intense and significant way. My emotions are too raw at this point to give a lot of details. And if I did I know they would not reflect a basis and foundation of love and caring. And I think in stating that opinion I have identified the basis and foundation from which I operate and how I set my priorities.

Adriaen Janss Hoedemaecker said when writing to his wife, “Let me inform you, my dear and in God beloved wife how it still stands with me, that I am still well content and of good cheer, the Lord be praised for his grace which He shows me, and I hope by His grace, that He will help and keep me unto the end, since with Jeremiah, I have committed to Him my cause against my adversaries, who are set against me and against the Lord.” I echo Hoedemaecker’s words; that is how it is for me today. I also have great appreciation for the words from the writer of 1 John; it does feel like the world hates me. And I do feel like it is because of the way I view life and how I interact with people.

I am not setting up them/those/the world as evil any more than I am placing my self in the position of being righteous. But the difference in my perspective and the perspective of others was illustrated pretty plainly. I would like to wrap myself in the cloak of righteousness (that I am faultless and blameless as opposed to the inadequacy of others) but doing so I am afraid would place myself on a pedestal of inerrancy and I just can’t get myself to do that. So I am exposed to the critic of others, much the same way I guess Abel was vulnerable to his brother Cain’s opinion. And I do feel a little ‘slain’, but again that is my bruised feelings showing through.

What I guess I want to say, when it comes down to it, is that the world which goes about its business unconcerned with tenderness, compassion, empathy, and love will be set against those who do champion those values and refuse to give in to ‘evil actions’, however you may define that.

May you, very gentle reader, love the world and all those in it even when they hate you. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

