Praising God after a rough day

“Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous deeds among all peoples.” (Psalm 96:3)

As I sit here on the eve of the Sabbath, I wish I could write a psalm of glory and praise to God for all the wondrous things the Lord has done. But the truth of the matter is that I am in a grumpy mood. I have a headache the size of the Pacific (being a west coast woman) and my computer has been slow and stubborn to do what I want as quickly as I want. I have been having to fill out forms on my computer and have been having formatting nightmare and there is a DVD I want to finish watching. My neck hurts from being hunched over a keyboard and my eyesight is swimmy from staring at the computer screen. Somehow praising God it all this is sort an uphill battle.

But you know, God did not have it easy either. Adam and Eve sort of flunked the garden of Eden test. Noah had to build an ark to escape sin. Then there was Abraham thinking he knew how to raise up a nation for himself, Jacob who pulled a fast one on Esau, Moses who ended up wandering for 40 years, David who just couldn’t get the hang of moderation, and along the way the Hebrews and Israelites who just couldn’t remain faithful to the one God idea, and the Jews who couldn’t recognize the Messiah right under their noises. And then there are the modern Christians who are all over the map on faith practices. It is just about enough to make a passionate and compassion God throw up the Divine hands in despair. But the Lord didn’t give up. And if I, after my minor trials and tribulations, am ready to call it a day, just think how God must feel after 2000 plus years.

So yeah, praise God for hanging in then when the going got tough, and never giving up on creation. Declare the Lord’s glory for not throwing in the towel on us and for believing that we can get things right yet. Recognize God’s marvelous deeds amongst us and for us when we probably don’t deserve half the blessings that we get. And pay homage to God’s mercy and compassion.

May you, gentle reader, praise God through your worst of times, and may the Lord see you through those times. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

One thought on “Praising God after a rough day

  1. May you have a restful and peaceful Sunday!

    Like

Your comments are welcome

