BLESSING – Pure Shalom . . . in time

“The Lord bless you from Zion. May you see the prosperity of Jerusalem all the days of your life. May you see your children’s children. Peace be upon Israel!” (Psalm 128:5-6 from Psalm 128:1-6 )

As I was posting one of my blogs to the website, I noticed that I (meaning how many I personally  have written and posted) was nearing 2000 posts. And this one makes it 2001. And I thought, “this calls for a little notice, some pomp and circumstance.” But alas, post 2000 was already written, and the theme was not appropriate to “pomp and circumstance.” And I could not make myself change one letter of it in order to recognize the coming and going of the 2000th posting.

But that is alright. It is the passing of the 2000th mark that pleases me more than getting that many done. And even at this writing, I still yet to have posted 2000; since I write so in advance, I never “catch up” with myself. That is, I am never writing “currently.”

That is often the way it is with blessing and shalom. It is wished and bestowed in the present, but more likely than not the blessing and shalom are something we look forward to in the future. That is the grammatical function of “may” – the one blessing hopes that the one being blessed will have that happen for them. And not that it is happening now. Look at the end of verse 5 – “all the days of your life.” A hopeful intention for the future, and not necessarily a reality today. So the the blessing of seeing “your children’s children.” Inherent in that is a wish for a long and healthy life, and the reality that your children are already grown and having children.

The process of turning an enemy into a friend takes time too. Time to assuage fears and prove good will. Time for justice to be made evident and right relationships to take root and grow. We work now for what we hope will come in the future. Just as I write now for what I will post for you in the future.

May you, gentle reader, see the fruit of your good work in your lifetime, and may your work stand as evidence for God’s mission of shalom in the world. Shalom for day and all the days to come! Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

