HEALS BROKENHEARTED – One heart at a time

“The Lord builds up Jerusalem; he gathers the outcasts of Israel. He heals the brokenhearted, and binds up their wounds . . . He grants peace within your borders . . . . Praise the Lord!” (Psalm 147: 2-3, 14aReference: Psalm 147:1-20 )

These words from Psalm 147 sounded a lot like song lyrics to me, so I looked it up. And there are at least two separate songs (at least I think they are two different songs) based on this passage. But neither song sounded familiar to me – that is, from my grouping up years. So I assume they are fairly recent.

There has been an explosion of Christian music in the last, say, 10 years – or more. I remember when I started to listen to Christian music exclusively, there was little to chose from. I started buying CDs but soon discovered that there were more groups popping up. There are still one or two groups I try to keep up with in buying their lasted CDs, but even that is getting hard to do. I think it is great there is so much Christian music to listen to. I listen to Pandora at work, when I am by myself in the office. (Pandora is an online radio station that provides free music, supporting itself by selling advertising. It really is pretty good.)

But I am digressing – maybe. You see, it is my believe that listening to music that establishes, supports, and affirm Christian values, and extolling the virtues of God can mend your heart. When a person listens to a sermon or meditation, or reads scripture or inspirational writings, it is a direct “application.” Either you listen/tune it in or don’t. But music played as a background is more subtle and soothing. It is like a subliminal message “God is love” that you have willing allowed into your life – not to intrude in but to accompany you. And at times a word or phrase will pop, or a refrain will catch your attention. And suddenly, in the midst of your work, you are reminded God is there.

The verses from this Psalm say the God does all the familiar things we know the Divine will do – builds up, gathers together, binds and heals our hurts, and grants peace. But the wonderful thing is that God does all of these things where each of us is in our lives. Right where we are trying to cope, God is there right beside us. Each of us, personally!

May God speak to you, gentle reader, wherever you are. And wherever you are, may you let God in. Selah! And shalom for your day.

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

