PRAY FOR PEACE . . . Who shall we pray for?

“Pray for the peace of Jerusalem: “May they prosper who love you. Peace be within your walls, and security within your towers.” For the sake of my relatives and friends I will say, “Peace be within you.” For the sake of the house of the Lord our God, I will seek your prosperity. “ (Psalms 122:6-9 from Psalm 122:1-9 )

I had thought at first I would do a paraphrase and an updating of this passage. But as I was ready to begin, I thought “Who or what nation or place should I put in for ‘Jerusalem’?” And it was at that point I was stumped and knew I could not continue. Indeed, I should not continue. For what ever name of place or person I put in, someone would be left out. And if I put in some generic term like the “global community” it would be so neutral as to mean nothing.

Mmmm . . . maybe what I could do is allow you, gentle reader to put in the name or places that you would pray for. And that would work and give you a wonderful meditation. But would that right and in keeping with our triune theme which is just one day away from passing into history?

So here is the challenge I set before myself – to make something contemporary out of something very old.

“Pray for the peace of your neighborhood, and the neighbor far away: “May they prosper who love you, and who you love. But may those for whom love is not a reality prosper also. Peace be within your walls and all the walls that humanity has constructed. And security within the hearts of every nation. But may each nation’s security not threaten another nation.” For the sake of every one of God’s children’s relatives and friends I will say, “Peace be within you.” For the sake of the house of the Lord our God who is the God of child, women and man, I will seek their prosperity. “ Selah! And shalom for the days to come.

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

One thought on “PRAY FOR PEACE . . . Who shall we pray for?

  1. My prayer will also include a request for all religious leaders to unite together with a common goal to teach their followers good will toward all men regardless of their religious beliefs. I say this because if religious leaders cannot tolerate each other, either will their followers.

    Like

Your comments are welcome

