FAITH . . . Having enough to equal the task

He replied, “Because you have so little faith. I tell you the truth, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.” (Reference: Matthew 17:20 )

Writing commentaries like these, sooner or later you get to these types of scripture passages passages that are examples of metaphors and analogies that were used at the time Jesus was on earth. And they are very frustrating to write on. You can write commentaries that use the same type of metaphor/analogy and so write/answer in kind. You can draw from your own experience and so “dodge” the head-on encounter with the verse or verses. Or you can “build up” the situation by talking about the need for faith and believing in the power of God. The editors of Reading the Anabaptist Bible made a quick right (or left) turn by emphasizing the faith component and talking about the faith with works/faith without works “gambit” and tying that to infant baptism versus adult baptism backed by mature and informed faith.

Now beloved, if you have spent any amount of time over the past years reading what I write, you know I am a person of faith. What size my faith is, I will leave to God’s judgment. But let me tell you, I have never moved a physical mountain. Never! But I have never said to a physical mountain, hill, mound or even an ant hill “move!” What I have done today, yesterday, and several times last week is said, “I am not capable of the tasks ahead of me, Lord. I have no idea how I am going to manage this. But I have faith that you will see me through it.” And the Lord has, each and every time! And the outcome has been pretty darn good too!!

I don’t recall any story of the historic Anabaptists where they moved mountains. But they had faith that allowed them to stand firm and face more anguish than most people would want to imagine. And while my life is not as tough as theirs was, there is some tough stuff in my life. Not physical mountains, but looming things just the same. I can’t face it without the faith I have in God and the faith that God will carry me through it all.

Beloved, may the faith that is in your heart and spirit be sufficient whatever “mountains” are in your life. And may God give you all the faith you need. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

