SPIRIT . . . Wisdom and Direction on a Different Level

The man [or woman] without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him, and he cannot understand them, because they are spiritually discerned.” (Reference: 1 Corinthians 2:14 [Addition mine])

In 1569 three historic Anabaptists were brought before a group of governmental officials to be judged and condemned. One of historic Anabaptists, Hendrick Alewijns, made the following statement: “Most worthy officers, justiciaries, and all my lords, who in the name and by the authority of the king are to be my judges and examiners, and are present here, give audience to me, the condemned, Hendrick Alewijns, now ready here for the torture, through your sentence. Behold, I find myself inwardly constrained, and incessantly urged, not to neglect to point out and make known to you all the outrages committed by you on me and those like me, who are innocent of wicked crimes and have not merited legal punishment.

In the first place, let it be clearly, sacredly and scripturally shown, announced and declared to you, that our, or my matters, are not misdeeds or crimes, but a law of God, matters of faith, and of the spirit; hence they ought to and must be judged spiritually and with the spirit, for a natural man cannot comprehend them; they are foolishness to him. 1 Cor. 2:14. Consider this freely and thoroughly.” He and his fellow believers were burned anyway.

Honest and basic men and women living as they felt God called them. This has been the legacy of the Anabaptists/Mennonites from their first beginnings until day. Every day, every single day, living as God has called them to live. I was thinking about this the morning that I wrote this, that writing these commentaries daily is part of my living my Anabaptist/Mennonite faith daily. Every day. Yes, sometimes it is tiring. And sometimes I wish . . . well, I don’t know exactly what I wish, but it is sometimes so tempting to see what it would be like NOT to be a daily fervent believer. To say “today I do what I WANT TO DO!” But then I think about what I REALLY WANT TO DO and I realize the Spirit is so deep and wide in my that what I want to do and what I am called to do by the Spirit are really the same. I am not saying I am perfect – but there comes a point when being “spiritual” is so much of who you are that to be anything else would be impossible. However, I did not mean to make myself the focus here.

Beloved, it is my hope and prayer that you understand what I mean and do not find it foolishness. Not because I fear being called a “fool” but I fear that when the end of this world comes you will find yourself being judged by God according to spiritual standards, and be found wanting. Do not let it be so! Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

