BE NOT AFRAID . . . For you are not alone

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or discouraged because of the king of Assyria and the vast army with him, for there is a greater power with us than with him. With him is only the arm of flesh, but with us is the Lord our God to help us and to fight our battles. And the people gained confidence from what Hezekiah the king of Judah said.” (Reference: 2 Chronicles 32:7-8 )

I was reading this passage a few days ago. Sometimes I just get “hungry” to read the bible, so I pick up one of my copies and just open it and see what I see. This last time I found this section of scripture, so it delights me beyond the telling to see it here.

It delights me for three reasons. First, that it is a sign that God is with me during this year of writing and posting commentaries. Secondly, it is a good message to keep in mind. Jacob, a historic Anabaptist believer wrote to the readers of his letter God knows our strength, that it is nothing, hence He cares for us, for He hath said, “I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.” So that we may boldly say, the Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me.” He says later in the letter, ““I am he that comforteth you; who art thou, that thou shouldest be afraid of a man that shall die, and of the son of man which shall be made as grass?” Isa. 40:6; 1 Pet. 1:24; Isa. 51:8, 12. For with them there is only an arm of flesh, but with us is the Lord Himself, who will help us, and fight our battles. 2 Chron. 32:8; Jer. 17:5; Wisd. 4:28.”

Third and lastly, it speaks to me about something I am going through right now. I have said a time or two before that my health is sometimes very poor, and the day of this writing was an especially difficult day. In the midst of my health difficulties there have also been some challenges in my job and poor health/stamina can make planning and arranging even more difficult. So hearing that whatever “flesh” may be in opposition to me can not overwhelm the might of the Lord, and that I can depend on God’s might to see me through. That was probably what the Spirit was trying to get through to me, and it is only now pondering on this passage of scripture and in writing this commentary that I see and understand what the Spirit was saying.

While the season of Lent does not seem to, on the surface, have much to do with God’s might being with us -Lent being the season of diligent discipline and correction – the outcome of Lent is that God through Christ is with us in a powerful and saving way. And that is the deepest message of the Lenten season. We are not alone, and we need to fear anything when God is with us.

May you beloved receive all the messages that God’s Spirit has for you, and may you be comforted in your journey. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

