HOPE . . . . A Preacher and Seeker Call and Response

Preacher: Who fears the Lord?

Seeker: I fear the Lord, and am afraid for I am a sinner!

Preacher: Do not be afraid, gentle soul, for you are blessed!

Preacher: Who loves the Lord?

Seeker: I love the Lord, for God’s mercy is well established from days gone by!

Preacher: You are wise, gentle soul, for your hope is well placed in the Lord.

Preacher: Who desires to look upon the Lord?

Seeker: I do, but I an fearful to see the Lord’s divine countenance!

Preacher: Do not fear, for the eyes of the Lord are upon you with caring and compassion.

Seeker: The Lord is my protection and strong stay!

Preacher: The sun is strong at noon, and would scorch your soul!

Seeker: The Lord protects me and preserves me from stumbling.

Preacher: There are many things in this world that you will stumble over! Beware!

Seeker: The Lord will steady my footsteps and keep me from falling.

Preacher: The Lord will raise up your soul at the end of all days.

Seeker: The Lord will bring light to my eyes so that I will see and understand.

Preacher: The Lord will give you health, life, and blessing!

Seeker: Blessed be the name of the Lord.

This Sunday is Palm Sunday or Passion Sunday, the day that Jesus rode into Jerusalem. It is an important point on Jesus Christ’s journey to the cross. It seemed good to me, and the Spirit helped, to write a call and response with today’s scripture passage. My hope is that it will help you focus on this season of preparation for Easter. This year’s lectionary passages come from Matthew 21: 1-11; Psalms 118:1-2,19-29; Isaiah 50:4-9z; Psalms 31: 9-16; Philippians 2:5-11; and Matthew 26: 14 to 27:66. The coming week is called Holy Week and culminates in Good Friday. While some churches follow the format of Lent, other churches do not. However most churches include Palm/Passion Sunday, Good Friday, and Easter. If you have any questions about the season of Lent, please let me know. And may Jesus be the unfailing source of hope that you need. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

