RIGHTEOUSNESS . . . “Getting it”

Christ is the end of the law so that there may be righteousness for everyone who believes.”  (Reference: Romans 10:4)

Many times when I sit down to think about and comment on a passage, I am reluctant to trust my own interpretation of the scripture passage. It’s like I know what it means, but I don’t REALLY KNOW what it means. That is, my own understanding of it is not complete until I can see it through another person’s eyes and thought, like a second opinion. I think that is why I have a love/hate relationship with commentators. I LOVE to know what their thoughts are, but when their thoughts are confused and outdated, or thin and shallow, or otherwise not helpful and illuminating, I hate it. That is why I like Albert Barnes so much. He says things clearly, concisely, and as I would. He says of this verse, “The main design or object which the perfect obedience of the Law would accomplish, is accomplished by faith in Christ.”

When I set aside the simplicity of that statement, I have to marvel at the immediacy of righteousness. To simply says, “I have faith and believe in and about everything of Christ” means that righteousness is instantly there and available – of course one has to constantly and consistently keep one’s life oriented to that belief and principle. And that is not so instantaneously or easy! But it could be if we could only maintain it – which we have the best chance of doing by re-affirming our faith and intention to follow Christ.

The “miracle” though, which is what I want to emphasis, is that we do not have to worry about keeping “the Law” with all its rules and intricacies. But we don’t have to worry about fulfilling any of that law, if we would just give over our life to Christ. It is like, if you will pardon the example, getting a perfect cup of coffee. You could . . . till and prepare the land, plant the beans, grow the beans, harvest the beans, roast the beans, and then grind the beans. Or you could buy some ground coffee in a store and bring it home to your coffee maker. Christ came, lived, died, and was raised from the dead for us! We just have to believe in it!

May you beloved turn your life to perfection by choosing to believe in Christ. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

