WISDOM . . . A Preacher and Seeker Reflection

Preacher: “Who is wise and understanding among you?”

Seeker: There are those who say I am wise, but I have learned that wisdom is best judged by God and not by humanity.

Preacher: “Let him show it by his good life, by deeds done in the humility that comes from wisdom.”

Seeker: I look to my God for direction and guidance. I pray that my Lord will keep me open to the needs of others and will keep me humble.

Preacher: “But if you harbor bitter envy and selfish ambition in your hearts, do not boast about it or deny the truth.”

Seeker: I seek to be honest with my Lord, with others, and will myself. I seek what the Lord would have me do.

Preacher: “Such “wisdom” does not come down from heaven but is earthly, unspiritual, of the devil.”

Seeker: Though the devil may pursue me and tempt, I will try to cling to me God. Away from my evil one! I will serve my Lord only!

Preacher: “For where you have envy and selfish ambition, there you find disorder and every evil practice.”

Seeker: When I have sought favor from the world in the past, I had gone astray and was lost. When I tried to get ahead in the world, I lost hope and despaired.

Preacher: “But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere.”

Seeker: When I sought God’s wisdom, I found joy in my spirit. When I followed God’s wisdom, all other troubles fell away and I was at peace. When I practiced God’s wisdom, I found myself growing in ways that delighted my soul.

Preacher: “Peacemakers who sow in peace raise a harvest of righteousness.” (Reference: James 3:13-18 )

Seeker: I will sow and cultivate seeds of peace. God’s wisdom and shalom will be my watch words and the direction of my life. May they be yours also! Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

