TREASURE . . . Don’t wait to start laying it up in heaven!

Command those who are rich in this present world not to be arrogant nor to put their hope in wealth, which is so uncertain, but to put their hope in God, who richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment. Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share. In this way they will lay up treasure for themselves as a firm foundation for the coming age, so that they may take hold of the life that is truly life.”
(Reference:
1 Timothy 6:17-19 )

It is not unusual in my job to have clients pass away. I have become used to it, in a way, because I know that their health is fragile. There are some clients whose passing I take harder then others. One such passing occurred recently, and another client passed several weeks ago. The way I react, sorrow but acceptance, depends on how the family is doing. If they family had time to accept it, and everyone had gotten a chance to say what they wanted to say, for me the passing is easy because I know all that could be done had been done. But if the passing was sudden or if I knew the passing was hard on the family, it is hard on me too.

I do not know much, and would not ask, if the person who passed away had stored up treasure in heaven. But it is a good clue to see how the people around them are reacting. I will not go into specifics, or make assumptions without facts. But you can get a sense of where their treasure was. I suspect the two recent passings had treasure in heaven.

It is not my place either, beloved, to offer counseling or ask questions. If I worked in another place and/or had a different job title it would be. But it is not. And sometimes I feel “stifled” in not being able to offer that. I can offer it to you though, beloved. Do not wait for you time here on this earth to end. Do not set importance on earthly things, but set your sight on heavenly things. And if you have financial or other sorts of resources, share those so that others might have ease in their life. You know these things beloved. Or, at least I hope you do.

Dirk Philips said, “minister to each other with a willingly extended hand, Rom. 12:13, not only with spiritual, but also with temporal gifts which we have received from God.” May hear and do this exhortation that comes to your across the generations. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

