DO NOT WORRY . . . But give EVERYTHING over to God

Cast your cares on the LORD and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous fall.”  (Reference: Psalms 55:22 )

It is here that I can say with all certainty that the historic Anabaptists, whoever they are, did this unfailingly. What ever else I may said about them and whatever my opinion on their theology, they continually cast their burdens and cares on the Lord. What I would wonder is this though – did they feel that they never fell?

It is a matter of perspective. Raphel van den Velde wrote a very compelling letter to his wife, and it is obvious he struggled in leaving his care to God. He wrote, “I hope by and by to write more fully about everything. Tell my dear brother, also to write something, and greet him much for me, as also his wife, and my dear sister, with the peace of the Lord, and that they write me something, since I am exceedingly much burdened and concerned for them. And take good heed, for no one knows what bonds are, except he that tries them, this I may well say, for which I thank and praise the Lord with a joyful heart. I hope that I am over the worst and my heart is much resigned in suffering or affliction, and in death, but when I begin to think of parting from my love, and my dear son, then I cannot compose my heart so easily.

But this comforts me much, that my child can keep his mother. And be not overcareful, my love; the Most High cares for you and also for your child; and our dear Lord has shown us much grace, that He has permitted us to live together so long. Yea, be not too careful, this I pray you, my love; but cast your care entirely and gladly upon the Lord; He will provide for you, and give you another husband in my place, if it be for your good. Ps. 55:22; 1 Pet. 5:7; Phil. 4:6.”

We may not see where the Lord has taken our cares and burdens, lightening the load on us. Sometimes it is only in looking back that we see where the Lord has worked. It was only a few days ago that I talked about how I cast my burdens and cares on the Lord; and if I did not give the historic Anabaptists their due in handing over things to God, then I would like to repent of that slighting. But beloved, when you read some of their letters, it is like they take what is heaped on them as the consequences of faith in the Lord. And that just rubs me the wrong way.

Which ever way your perspective runs on the historic Anabaptists, may you cast your burdens on the Lord, and may our God make your journey easier. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

