DO NOT WORRY . . . Our Daily Needs are Covered

If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” (Reference: Matthew 6:30-34 )

Okay, I am ready to eat my crow and humble pie, beloved. On this second day of this theme – ”Do Not Worry”- I am convinced the historic Anabaptists sought to “not worry” and place their trust in the Lord, and depending on the Lord for their needs and strength. But it is interesting, beloved, that in both writing from the historic Anabaptists thus far they talk about struggling with this.

In “The Attentive Prayer of a Converted Person,” Pieter Pietersz wrote, “I have . . . often spoken the words, give us this day our daily bread, but without thinking about it, for I was not satisfied with that so that my prayer appeared to be more of a mockery than a true prayer. For I attempted to gather treasure for many years, thus totally disregarding your Word, in which you admonish us not to worry about tomorrow, Luke 12:19; Matt. 6:34. I did not know your fatherly concern for me, living instead as a heathen filled with worry: I tried to provide for myself without you, without your blessing, and also to save for my children, Psalm 55:23; 10:3. But O father, I regret having erred in that way, for which reason I now ask you as a child asks its Father, give us this day our daily bread: I am satisfied and deeply grateful that I have enough for my needs, food and shelter, which you generously supply to all who call upon you in faith, 1 Tim. 6:6.”

What Pietersz learned is something I learned many years ago – but I still momentary “breakthroughs” when something happens and I feel lost, scrambled, and frazzled. But I take myself in hand and remind myself that I am a child of God. God will not desert me, and if I can just hold tight, God will make a way.

I would be remiss though, beloved, if I did not mention the garden outside our back door. It was planted by someone else. Each spring it blooms in marvelous ways. I do not tend it. Each fall the landscaping company comes through and cuts off the dead stalks, but does nothing more. So, in a sense it is really tended by God. If God tends to “my” flower garden so well, I can trust God and not worry about the other things in my life. And if I forget, my flower garden reminds me.

Do not worry beloved, but trust in the Lord who provides so many good things! Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

One thought on “DO NOT WORRY . . . Our Daily Needs are Covered

  1. sand8p says:

    Studying the Anabaptist; I learned that was the reason I rarely “fit in” with some groups. I really do believe the Word of God given for our living. They gave it up to the Lord and are such inspirations for us. Selah

    Like

Your comments are welcome

