DO NOT WORRY . . . And here’s why!

Young men, in the same way be submissive to those who are older. All of you, clothe yourselves with humility toward one another, because, “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.” Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you. “ (Reference: 1 Peter 5:5-7 )

In “Pride . . . A Final Word” [June 13, 2014 ] this same scripture passage was used. I said, and I say now, this was applied to all people by the writer of 1 Peter. Where last time (June 13 of this year), the emphasis was on resisting pride, this time the focus is not worrying and casting all anxiety on God. On June 21 of 2009 I wrote on both the theme of not worrying but also not having pride. (I must insert as this point, beloved, that my writing style has changed in over five years.) It is an interesting read, what I said five years ago. [Humbleness, Humility, and Anxiety; A Very Strange Mix] I would encourage you to read it if you have interest.

What will I say today? I talked in 2009 about the historic Anabaptist’s, Jacques Mesdagh, letter to his sister. I did not think much of it five years ago. I also had stern words for the commentator that I consulted five years ago. But this year, today, I want to emphasis the reason the writer of I Peter exhorts and commends his listener/reader to cast all anxiety on the Lord. It is because God cares for you. A simple reason, perhaps. But think about it; the Divine who did the most awesome things EVER cares about us. Think of anyone well-known, powerful, and all the other superlatives that you can thing of; and multiple those by . . . infinite! That is God! And this God cares about you! I’m ready to have over everything to the Lord, and I do! I invite you do so also beloved. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

