NO ONE CAN SERVE TWO MASTERS . . . . An ageless decision

Am I now seeking human approval, or God’s approval? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still pleasing people, I would not be a servant of Christ.” (Reference: Galatians 1:10 )

I want to tell you a little bit about Jacques Dosie ( or D’Auchy). He was betrayed and arrested by someone he did business with – he was a peddler and an acquaintance asked him to come and show him Dosie’s wares. But instead of transacting business, he was arrested, questioned and tortured many times. And finally killed. He was also very learned and several of his conversations with his inquisitors are set down in print and part of Reading the Anabaptist Bible as well as in the collections of historic Anabaptist writings. What surprised me, and will surprise too I am sure, beloved, was that he was fifteen years old!

The editors of Reading the Anabaptist Bible included that fact when they used this interchange with his accuser. In this instance his accusers were of noble birth and included a “Lady” (meaning not just female but of gentle birth) which I sure was part of the plan to cajole him into recanting. It is the interaction with her that the editors have quoted.

Lady. “My dear child, behold, I pray thee, come over to our side, and repent, and you shall get out of this trouble, and I promise to procure your release.”

Jacques. “My lady, I thank you very much for your affection and favor towards me; but I will not change my faith, to please mortal man; unless it be proved to me with the Scriptures, that I err; for I have given myself entirely to God, to be His friend, and herein I hope to live and die.” Gal. 1:10; Phil. 3:8; John 15:14.”

Dosie did not seek human approval; I looked back on the other excerpts of him, and he in no way tried to couch his responses in “pleasing terms” but was succinct and direct. But what is surprising is that he is fifteen years! For this is not a rebellious mouthy youth, but a “learned man” who holds his own against people much older than him. Most fifteen year olds hardly know their own mind and opinions much less defend them. In fact for most modern Anabaptists/Mennonites at fifteen have only just joined the church (if that young) and in no way can discussion theology.

My incredulity gives away, however, to the realization that serving only one Master means a focusing of thought and energy toward one goal. May we do as well at our age. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

One thought on “NO ONE CAN SERVE TWO MASTERS . . . . An ageless decision

  1. Jacob Froese says:

    Yes. Amen

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

Your comments are welcome

