NO ONE CAN SERVE TWO MASTERS . . . . But can you be friends with both?

Do you not know that friendship with the world is enmity with God? Therefore whoever wishes to be a friend of the world becomes an enemy of God.” (Reference: James 4:4 )

I completed my first year of high school in a public school. It was, well, not easy because most of my friends were girl friends I knew from church. The four of us stuck pretty close together in grade school, and our friends there – while not Mennonite – knew enough of Anabaptist/Mennonite that we were never challenged or “pushed”. High school was different. For some of my classes it was alright, but for some I was teased unmercifully simply because I was “different.” I dressed the same, mostly, as them; but the difference must have come through. Simply, they were the world . . . and I was not. Until now I never thought it might have been as basic as that.

And maybe part of it was me; or my “aloofness” that came from growing up in a very sheltered community/environment. For my second year of high school my mother and step-father asked if I wanted to attend the local private Mennonite high school. My peer group from church did not go there, although some of girls who were a few years old did. I was told I would be very welcome. But I decided to stay with public school. Maybe the “lure” of “friendship with the world” was too tempting.

In the five years I was in high school (I took “honors classes” which added a year) I made friends with a good many people at high school, but always held myself just a little aloof, as if there was a depth of friendship that I did not want to go to. However, for what it is worth, when it came to college I went Mennonite all the way!

Modern Anabaptists/Mennonites have come to realize that keeping the world at arm’s length is not a good way to live out God’s mission. I don’t care how you define the not “serving two masters” thing – you cannot lead a person to Christ if you are not friends with them. To become someone’s “friend” just to save their soul is obvious. More harm than good is done that way. I guess this is one place (or one more place) historic Anabaptists and I disagree.

May you beloved not hold back your friendship with other, but through befriending them may you lead them to your friend God. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

