SEPARATION . . . Finding Oasis of Faith

Do not be mismatched with unbelievers. For what partnership is there between righteousness and lawlessness? Or what fellowship is there between light and darkness? What agreement does Christ have with Beliar? Or what does a believer share with an unbeliever? What agreement has the temple of God with idols? For we are the temple of the living God; as God said, “I will live in them and walk among them, and I will be their God, and they shall be my people. Therefore come out from them, and be separate from them, says the Lord, and touch nothing unclean; then I will welcome you.” Reference: 2 Corinthians 6:14-17

I invite you, beloved, to read very carefully what historic Anabaptist Hans Denck has to say. This is from his “Protestation and Confession” that he wrote in 1528. I tell you to read carefully because because there is much theology and personal belief in it.

Those hearts that exalt this blessed deed of God through Christ and follow in his footsteps make me rejoice, and I love them as well as I know them. However, I cannot have much fellowship with those who do not wish to hear me and yet will not keep silence in controversial matters, for I sense not the mind of Christ in them but rather a perverted one that would forcibly drive me from my faith and coerce me to theirs. . . . Thus I separate myself from some, not because I consider myself better or more righteous than they, but (although in such a case much is lacking in [my relation to] them) in order that I may unhindered freely seek the precious pearl and, inasmuch as I have found it, that I might (as far as I am able) retain the same with everyone’s peace. Persecution and fear of that sort have separated me from others, but my heart is not turned from them, especially not from those who fear God. As God wills and insofar as I am cognizant, will I have no communion [2 Cor. 6:14] with error and unrighteousness, even though I am among sinners and those who go astray.”

I find myself agreeing with him on every point. I love all my fellow God and Christ believers for we are the family and children of God and Christ. If I sense a large gap between my faith beliefs and the faith beliefs of other people, I try to keep the conversation away from those areas and do not let them influence my faith beliefs. I find Denck’s very careful phrasing a refreshing change from other non-believer “bashing” and I like that he numbers himself “amongst sinners and those who go astray.” In my line of work I can not always separate myself from people who do not seem to share my faith beliefs, but then I do not seek to change them and will not let them change me. This is what is meant, at its best, to live in the world but not of it.

May you beloved pick your way carefully through this world enjoying communion with like minded people. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

