DO NOT DEPEND ON THE GREAT CROWD . . . Trying not to “buck the system” too much


“Do not follow the crowd in doing wrong. When you give testimony in a lawsuit, do not pervert justice by siding with the crowd.” (Reference: Exodus 23:2 )

It is the Fourth of July, beloved. It is a day of very mixed emotions for me. I do find honor and courage in the actions of those people who have pledge their lives to serve their country, and who have made sacrifices to do so. But, feeling war is not the right way to solve problems, global and otherwise, I mourn and regret that lives were lost in that way. I think having pride in one’s country and dedication to the good and welfare of neighbors and fellow citizens is very good. But I mourn the fact that humanity-made boundaries separate us from our global neighbors and pit one country against another on a scale of where aggression, hatred, violence and death are acceptable outcomes.

It would be easy and simple, beloved, to just follow the crowd and not give much thought to this day and what it stands for. And I will admit, on the day of I am more interested in the time off from and work and the time with family. But I remain aware that I am taking advantage of a day that I am always slightly uncomfortable with. I have the same problems with Memorial Day and Remembrance Day. But what is a Canadian Anabaptist/Mennonite girl who has been transplanted to the United States do?

I would hope, beloved, that would not follow the crowd but would make considered and deliberate choices for what you should feel you should do. Do not conform to a crowd who does not espouse the same values you do. Stuck up for justice and what is righteous according to our Lord God. And . . . enjoy your Fourth of July remembering who has paid the ultimate price for your freedom and salvation. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

