DO NOT DEPEND ON THE GREAT CROWD . . . For they are journeying toward their ruin

He answered me and said, “The Most High made this world for the sake of many, but the world to come for the sake of only a few. But I tell you a parable, Ezra. Just as, when you ask the earth, it will tell you that it provides a large amount of clay from which earthenware is made, but only a little dust from which gold comes, so is the course of the present world. Many have been created, but only a few shall be saved.” I answered and said, “Then drink your fill of understanding, O my soul, and drink wisdom, O my heart.. “ (Reference: 2 Esdras 8:1-4 )

I must tell you beloved, I have been depending on the Holy Spirit’s inspiration for writing the past few days. I am more tired out than usual and my health has been pretty depleted. As I re-read this verse over and over, nothing came to my mind to say. It reminded me of the scripture passage from July 3rd where gold and silver vessels were being prized and the wood and clay represented people less able to carry out God’s will and mission. If we were to set these verses side by side, one would conclude that there are few vessels worthy of God’s attention and able to be God’s emissaries in the world.

The editors of Reading the Anabaptist Bible said concerning these verses “The great crowd walk happily toward their ruin.” And if this means as I think it does – that many people do not realized that the end of this age will find them in a bad place – it is a very sad thing.

Hendrick Alewijns wrote to his children of these dire consequences, and his writing reads as a depression description of people who are beyond hope and help. “The ungodly shall not escape with his spoils, and the patience of the godly shall not be frustrated. Behold, before God a great multitude is of little avail. He that sinneth must die. For every one that is proud in heart is an abomination to the Lord; though hand join hand, he shall not be unpunished. Prov. 16:5. The strength of the ungodly is like a heap of tow which is consumed with fire. The way of sinners is made plain with stones (it is true), but at the end thereof is the pit of hell. Sir. 21:9, 10. Hell also hath opened wide her mouth, to receive great and small, prince and multitude. Isa. 5;14. Many be called, but few chosen. Wide is the gate, and broad the way that leadeth to destruction, and many there be which walk in it. I further say: “The great majority will be damned and lost. this is too clear to be denied.” 2 Esd. 8:3.”

With all that I have on my mind, my mind easily turns to consider the dark nature of this passage. But not so dark, beloved, that I would number myself amongst those walking toward ruin, nor you. But the world at large? Yes, I can see it. Especially when one considers the dark nature of the world today. In fact, I was involved in a conversation about that just yesterday (of the day I wrote this). The conversation related more to politics, that theme was the same. No one cares about each other and no one cares about God’s creation. Most times I like to believe that is not true. But on days like today . . .

May you beloved be the gold dust of the world, follow God and being an inspiration to your fellow believer. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

