HUMAN LAW . . . A Preacher and Seeker conversation

Seeker: There are many who claim to be wise, and spin of philosophies that are deep and complex. They claim to have studied many long years and have read many books written by others who claim to have studied much.
Preacher: “See to it that no one takes you captive through hollow and deceptive philosophy . . “
Seeker: But these philosophies and theories do not claim God as their inspiration. The more I listen to them, the more confused I get.
Preacher: “ . . . which depends on human tradition and the basic principles of this world rather than on Christ.”
Seeker: I long for purity of speech and simple purpose. But I also long for someone who knows my thoughts and feelings. Someone who knows what it is like to try to live a Christian life on earth.
Preacher: “For in Christ all the fullness of the Deity lives in bodily form . . “
Seeker: How can I, a simple person understand the complicity of life?
Preacher: “. . . and you have been given fullness in Christ . . “
Seeker: Perhaps I should seek out a teacher here on earth; but all of them claim to have knowledge and ability.
Preacher: “ . . . who is the head over every power and authority.” (Reference: Colossians 2:8-10 )
Seeker: But how can I know who to chose?

 

Preacher: Seeker, have you been listening to me? Listening to the scripture I have been quoting to you?
Seeker: I have been listening to my own thoughts, and lost in my own pondering. You were quoting scripture? From what portion of the bible?
Preacher: The letter to the Colossians. The writer of Colossians was warning them not to be deceived by knowledge and wisdom that is based only on human understandings.
Seeker: I know that type of wisdom is faulty. I read and study scripture myself, and I know that my human understanding is not enough. I need the guidance of the Holy Spirit.
Preacher: Yes. Jörg Haugk von Jüchsen believed “[I]t is necessary to receive the spirit of divine knowledge. To a person experienced in divine knowledge it is clear that all parts originating with and having come from God must be brought back into the whole, that is, into the origin from whence they came; Col. 2:9-10; Phil. 3. All things work to the good of those who have this insight; Rom. 8:28; and to such persons the yoke is easy; Matt. 11:30.”
Seeker: Are you such a person Preacher?
Preacher: I try to be. But I think Seeker you can be such a person. It will take time, devotion, and prayer. But you could receive divine knowledge. All people are eligible for this blessing form our Lord Christ. But few desire it and are willing to be guided and taught by God.
Seeker: I would very much like this blessing. Preacher, would you pray with me for this blessing?
Preacher: It would be my privilege and honor Seeker!

If it is your desire beloved, may you receive the blessing of divine knowledge through devotion, prayer, and walking with our Lord. Selah!

 

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

One thought on “HUMAN LAW . . . A Preacher and Seeker conversation

  1. […] historic Anabaptist views. In fact the verses following this passage were used on October 6th for Human Law A Preacher and Seeker Conversation which coincidentally was the posting for the day I wrote this […]

    Like

Your comments are welcome

