A Letter to You, Beloved

Beloved,

I started this year of commenting on Reading the Anabaptist Bible knowing that it was taking more and more out of me commenting each day. While I was looking forward to commenting again on what the historic Anabaptist came to believe in as their faith, I also knew it would be hard work to think deeply and thoroughly about the tenets of faith that they had. But I did not know how hard that work would be, or how much it would take out of me. At times I have faltered in being able to think clearly through some of the scripture passages and the excerpts from historic Anabaptist writing. If I have been less than what you had come to expect, I apologize.

At the beginning of 2014 I had already thought seriously about making this my last year of commenting on “Sip of Scripture” as posted and sent out daily from Third Way Cafe. And as the months rolled by it become clearer that doing this daily for still another year beyond 2014 was too much. I needed to make a change.

My plan, as the title of this blog alludes to, is a simple one. I wanted to return to some basics, but still keep in my focus scripture. I wanted a preset plan that would determine what each scripture passage would be, but not something that was daily. After considering and then setting aside several ideas, I decided to use the Revised Common Lectionary as my source of scripture. Several times over the years I have talked about the Revised Common Lectionary.

Basically it is a set of scripture passages that are in a three year cycle – every three years the cycle starts again. I am not sure of its complete history or beginnings. I could do a Google search and give you the results, but it might be more efficient for you to do that search yourself. What you will find is that the three years are designated as Year A, Year B and Year C. For each week there are four scripture passages; my intention is to write on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays.

I have already started writing these and they will start to appear at the beginning of Advent season which is the beginning of each lectionary year. The daily posting based on “Sip of Scripture” using scripture passages from Reading the Anabaptist Bible will continue until the end of the year along with the Advent postings. At that point “A Simple Desire” will continue, being posted four times a week using scripture passages as found in the Revised Common Lectionary. I have tried to give you, beloved reader, some orienting information about the Revised Common Lectionary as it pertains to the Advent season during the first week of this new blog format. Watch for it close to the end of November.

It may seem confusing at first, “A Simple Desire” being the same but different. I am hoping that you will continue to follow my postings. It is not the first time that I have posted on passages that were different from “Sip of Scripture.” During 2013 I picked passages from the Revised Common Lectionary (RCL) during Advent and commented on them. That might have been the beginning of my thinking about using the RCL as the source of scripture, and moving to a four day a week schedule instead of seven days. As I said before, I was getting pretty worn out.

I am hoping as time goes on my overall plan with become plainer. In the meantime, please beloved reader, if you have any comments or questions let me know.

May the Lord who is with us with each new venture be with you. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

2 thoughts on “A Letter to You, Beloved

  1. janet minton says:

    Carole, I am interested in whatever you say about whichever scripture you choose. I am not Mennonite, so the references to the early Anabaptists have been interesting and informative (and I have often been surprised at how modern they sound). I imagine this has been a labor of love for you, as well as a monumental effort.

    But it is your personal comments that have made your posts so interesting and helpful to me, and I have come to value your opinion. You speak with humility but also with a great deal of knowledge and depth of thought.

    I completely understand your going to four days a week…I’m just grateful for whatever you send. I appreciate your faithfulness and caring. love, janet

    Date: Sat, 1 Nov 2014 08:01:26 +0000 To: j-mint@hotmail.com

    Like

  2. Carole Boshart says:

    Thank you Janet! I am hoping that the people who have formed a habit of reading my blog daily will continue on. Comment on “Reading the Anabaptist Bible” has been a labor of love, sometimes more labor than love. I am looking forward to the new format and seeing what each day’s scripture. Blessings for your days! Carole

    Like

Your comments are welcome

