The Fourth Week of Advent: We Sing of God While We Wait

I will sing of your steadfast love, O Lord, forever; with my mouth I will proclaim your faithfulness to all generations. I declare that your steadfast love is established forever; your faithfulness is as firm as the heavens. You said, “I have made a covenant with my chosen one, I have sworn to my servant David: ‘I will establish your descendants forever, and build your throne for all generations.’ “ (Psalm 89:1-4)

I am not sure, but I think there are several songs that have been based on this scripture. It reads like a song, and if the notes and references in our bibles are accurate, the Psalms were written as actual songs of praise. But other than being scripture passages for Advent and Christmas, this Psalm is not directly related to this season. Why then might this Psalm be used?

Well, first it is because of the Lord’s steadfast love that we have baby Jesus. Second, Jesus was in the line of King David through his earthly father Joseph.

Then you spoke in a vision to your faithful one, and said: “I have set the crown on one who is mighty, I have exalted one chosen from the people. I have found my servant David; with my holy oil I have anointed him; my hand shall always remain with him; my arm also shall strengthen him.” (Psalm 89:19-21)

But, beloved reader, as the Psalms continued to be used down the generations the Psalms passage became more generally appropriated and applied. People placed themselves within the Psalms and used them to administer to their own wounds and needs. No longer was it just the “servant David” the one who the reader felt God was talking to, but they felt God was talking to them.


“The enemy shall not outwit him, the wicked shall not humble him. I will crush his foes before him and strike down those who hate him. My faithfulness and steadfast love shall be with him; and in my name his horn shall be exalted. I will set his hand on the sea and his right hand on the rivers. He shall cry to me, ‘You are my Father, my God, and the Rock of my salvation!’ “ (Psalm 89:22-26)

However, sometimes the Psalms speak about things even above and beyond our existence. Sometimes the claims the Psalms make seem to be about someone even more powerful and even more able than humanity. What the Psalmist originally hoped for him/her self seems to made manifest through the baby Jesus. The adult Jesus was foreordained to wondrous things, and wondrous things for us. It is through the Psalms that we can bring and sing of honor and glory.

May you, beloved reader, bring and sing praises to our Lord God and the son that God sent to us. And may blessing and honor be bestowed upon you by that Lord God. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

