The Christ who came for us, and who we are here for (The Epistle Passages)

Since, therefore, the children share flesh and blood, he himself likewise shared the same things, so that through death he might destroy the one who has the power of death, that is, the devil, and free those who all their lives were held in slavery by the fear of death. For it is clear that he did not come to help angels, but the descendants of Abraham. Therefore he had to become like his brothers and sisters in every respect, so that he might be a merciful and faithful high priest in the service of God, to make a sacrifice of atonement for the sins of the people. Because he himself was tested by what he suffered, he is able to help those who are being tested.” (Hebrews 2:14-18)

When we are feeling lost and alone, it is good to remember there is someone who knows us and is with us. As wonderful as friends and family are, each of them comes up against human limitations. But there is a Being who, while well aware of humanity, is not limited by humanness. I am of course taking about Christ and the God who sent Jesus Christ into the world. Feb 2nd was the remembrance of the infant Jesus being presented at the temple, but even at that presentation at such a young age, it was apparent to those who knew what this child represented. I remember too that the boy Jesus came to the temple to talk about his heavenly Parent. And that as a grown man Jesus went to the synagogue and the temple to worship and teach. Jesus longed for communion with God just as we do.

As the writer of Hebrews says, Jesus came for us. And shows us the way to God, and the way to live.

If I proclaim the gospel, this gives me no ground for boasting, for an obligation is laid on me, and woe betide me if I do not proclaim the gospel! For if I do this of my own will, I have a reward; but if not of my own will, I am entrusted with a commission. What then is my reward? Just this: that in my proclamation I may make the gospel free of charge, so as not to make full use of my rights in the gospel.

For though I am free with respect to all, I have made myself a slave to all, so that I might win more of them. To the Jews I became as a Jew, in order to win Jews. To those under the law I became as one under the law (though I myself am not under the law) so that I might win those under the law. To those outside the law I became as one outside the law (though I am not free from God’s law but am under Christ’s law) so that I might win those outside the law. To the weak I became weak, so that I might win the weak. I have become all things to all people, so that I might by any means save some. I do it all for the sake of the gospel, so that I may share in its blessings.” (I Corinthians 9:16-23)

When Christ came to the earth, he did not keep quiet about who sent him or why. While as a youth he went to the temple and the priests etc were astonished that a boy so young knew of faith matters. But we are not surprised. When Jesus first started his ministry, people were astonished at the strength of his teaching. But we are not surprised. And when he stood his ground in front of the Jewish and Roman officials, and was put to death for it, we are not surprised. So, as the writer of 1 Corinthians says, we should not be surprised that followers of Christ as supposed to speak up about their faith. And that we are to minister to a variety of people, being sensitive to their wants, hurts and needs. And that Christ and God will form us so that we might minister.

Will you, beloved reader, speak up and tell others of Christ and your faith? Christ gave up all divinity to come to earth. And he gave up his life for us. Whatever we can do in response and thanksgiving for what Christ and God did for us, let us do! Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

