The Fifth Sunday of Lent – Are we there yet? (The Old Testament Passage)

The days are surely coming, says the Lord, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah. It will not be like the covenant that I made with their ancestors when I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt—a covenant that they broke, though I was their husband, says the Lord. But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the Lord: I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people. No longer shall they teach one another, or say to each other, “Know the Lord,” for they shall all know me, from the least of them to the greatest, says the Lord; for I will forgive their iniquity, and remember their sin no more. “ (Jeremiah 31:31-34)

Yesterday I said it was good for us to prepare ourselves, and to know what preparations have been made for us. The passage from Jeremiah is a good source, and good news, for knowing what has been prepared for us. We will have a covenant with God, one that is durable and is based not on the laws of humanity but the laws of God. This covenant will be written on our hearts and make us God’s own. It will be great! But . . . has it come about yet? Does all of humanity have God’s laws written in their hearts? Is all of humanity God’s people? Does all of humanity know God in a personal and intimate way? Are we at that point yet?

Each lectionary/church year we go through the season of Lent. Each year we look at our selves, who we are, what we believe, how we live, and how we relate to God. Each year, on our human fallible side, we seek to renew the covenant that God placed within us. Because each year, in some way or another, we have default on the covenant. But praise be to God, God desires to renew the Lord’s covenant with us. We are fortunate to have a loving caring Lord like that.

So no, beloved reader, we are not there yet. We are not at the point when all of us know God and have God’s laws written on our hearts and souls. As one group, humanity, we are not there yet. But I hope and pray more and more individuals are coming to that point. I have been pleasantly surprised, and sometimes curiously surprised, at all the people who have decided to follow this blog. It gives me hope in this season of Lent. Selah! And shalom!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

One thought on “The Fifth Sunday of Lent – Are we there yet? (The Old Testament Passage)

  1. nicoseyes says:

    Food for thought….

    Like

Your comments are welcome

