The Sixth Sunday of Lent – As we draw nearer to the end of Lent (The Old Testament Passage)

The time is close now. Last week in the Gospel Passage Jesus announced “The hour has come for the Son of Man to be glorified” and a voice from heaven confirmed Jesus’ pronouncements. Are you ready beloved reader? Are you wondered what you should be ready for?

It is my hope and prayer that God has been working in your life, beloved reader. By the 50th chapter of Isaiah the writer of Isaiah declares,

The Lord God has given me the tongue of a teacher, that I may know how to sustain the weary with a word. Morning by morning he wakens— wakens my ear to listen as those who are taught.” (Isaiah 50:4)

I do not know if you have the “tongue of a teacher”, but there are many gifts and blessing that the Divine bestows on us. And if we listen to our God, morning by morning or day by day, we will learn what our gifts our and how to use them.

The Lord God has opened my ear, and I was not rebellious, I did not turn backward.
I gave my back to those who struck me, and my cheeks to those who pulled out the beard; I did not hide my face from insult and spitting.” (Verses 5 & 6)

When we are called by God, we often have to endure much. God’s gifts come, but there is no guarantee that the world will welcome what God has given us to give and share with humanity. However, as the writer of Isaiah says,

The Lord God helps me; therefore I have not been disgraced; therefore I have set my face like flint,
and I know that I shall not be put to shame; he who vindicates me is near.” (Verses 7-8a)

Whether your journey through the season of Lent has been one filled with learning and greater understanding infused with love and caring; or if it has been one filled with difficult lessons and challenges, God is with you. And so is your circle of faith.

“Who will contend with me? Let us stand up together. Who are my adversaries? Let them confront me.
It is the Lord God who helps me; who will declare me guilty?” (Verses 8b to 9a)

I have probably said this before, but it is during the season of Lent that many believers take account of their Christian faith and Christian living, to see where they have been less than faithful and accountable in their faith and life. It is a time re-commit and renew faith, and that is also the them of this lectionary year. May the God who has already made provision for our salvation and redemption guide you, beloved reader, with compassion and care through the remaining weeks to come in this Lenten season. Selah!

Your comments are welcome

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.