The Third Sunday of Easter – To be at peace, and sleep (The Psalms Passage)

God, you showed that I was innocent. You gave me relief from all my troubles.
So listen to me now when I call to you for help. Be kind to me and hear my prayer.” (Psalm 4:1)

There are many versions and translations of the bible. Some are intense and involved; but others, like the Easy-to-Read Version are simple and straightforward. The psalmist wrote many times in a straightforward manner, for the times in which the psalmist wrote. I like to think that when the Psalms are presented in such a straightforward manner we are getting to the heart and intent of the Psalm.

Men, [or, important people] how long will you try to dishonor me? Do you enjoy wasting your time searching for new lies against me? Selah” (Verse 2)

The word “Selah” is a word I used quite often in my writings. There are several ways to understand and/or interpret this word. The meaning that I like best and that I intend is “amen” or “may it be so.”

It seems clear that the psalmist is setting forth an argument or rationale for certain types of actions of living. A good thing to do in wake of Christ’s sacrifice for our redemption and salvation.

You can be sure that anyone who serves the Lord faithfully is special to him. The Lord listens when I pray to him.

Tremble with fear, and stop sinning. Think about this when you go to bed, and calm down. Selah” (Verse 3-4)

The question is, is the psalmist preaching this to others, . . . or to him or her self?

“Give the right sacrifices to the Lord, and put your trust in him!

Many people say, “I wish I could enjoy the good life. Lord, give us some of those blessings.”
But you have made me happier than they will ever be with all their wine and grain. When I go to bed, I sleep in peace, because, Lord, you keep me safe.” (Verses 5 -8)

I have been pondering lately being at rest, and feeling peace and security. It is a way of living that is much sought after. Many do not seek it, however, through their faith life. Instead they try to accumulate “wine and grain” thinking that possessions and material resources will make them happy and secure, and at peace. The psalmist, I think, knows and shows the better way. May you beloved reader find your rest, peace, and security in our Lord God. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

