The Sixth Sunday of Easter – Christian life instructions from Jesus (The Gospel Passage)

As the Father has loved me, so I have loved you; abide in my love. If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in his love. I have said these things to you so that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be complete.” (John 15:9-11)

At this point in the gospel of John, Jesus and his disciples are eating the Last Supper, and Jesus is taking the opportunity to do some final teaching with his disciples. At least, that is how the writer of the gospel of John is telling the story of Jesus’ ministry. Here, in these final hours, Jesus is passing on life wisdom to his disciples; and the writer of John is passing on to his/her readers the wisdom of Jesus. Much as I am, beloved reader, passing to you also wisdom and life truths.

This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. No one has greater love than this, to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.” (Verses 12-13)

This is your cue and clue, beloved readers and readers of the gospel of John, to understand that Jesus Christ is preparing to lay down his life for his friends and disciples, and for all of humanity.

You are my friends if you do what I command you. I do not call you servants any longer, because the servant does not know what the master is doing; but I have called you friends, because I have made known to you everything that I have heard from my Father.” (Verses 14-15)

Earlier in the evening Jesus had washed the disciples feet. This statement, in part, reflects that action, that Jesus sees the disciples as fellow carriers of God’s statutes and love. Jesus had opened the disciples’ thinking and understanding so that they might, as much as humanly possible, know what God’s plan and purpose was and is.

You did not choose me but I chose you. And I appointed you to go and bear fruit, fruit that will last, so that the Father will give you whatever you ask him in my name. I am giving you these commands so that you may love one another.” (Verses 16-17)

This I find highly interesting and intriguing. Jesus chose them! What an honor and privilege! But do not despair, beloved reader, for Jesus chooses us! We are appointed to go and bear fruit. The disciples boldly asked things in God’s name, and they were granted. When was the last time you boldly asked something in God’s name?

We may not be able to ask for things as the disciples asked, and have them granted. I am thinking of some pretty miraculous things – healing and such. But we can ask God for many things in Jesus’ name and have the assurance that they will be granted.

Abide in God’s love. Keep the commandments that God has given to your soul and being. Be joyful! Love one another, striving to love as Jesus Christ did. Listen to what the God that sent Jesus is saying to you. Bear fruit! May these things bring you God’s blessing! Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

