Season After Pentecost – Being Healed (The Gospel Passage)

When Jesus had crossed again in the boat to the other side, a great crowd gathered around him; and he was by the sea. Then one of the leaders of the synagogue named Jairus came and, when he saw him, fell at his feet and begged him repeatedly, “My little daughter is at the point of death. Come and lay your hands on her, so that she may be made well, and live.” So he went with him. And a large crowd followed him and pressed in on him. (Mark 5:21-24)

First, I want to mention and then set aside several issues on healing. Not everyone who gets sick enough to die gets better. That might sound kind of inane, but what I mean is that good and true Christians get sick, pray to God with others for healing but die anyway. You cannot judge the depth and breadth of a person’s faith according to whether their prayers, or the prayers for them, result in healing. Sometimes “healing” on comes through death. So what Jairus ask of Jesus is indeed a miracle – totally counter to what was the norm then and now. We will come back to that a little further on.

Now there was a woman who had been suffering from hemorrhages for twelve years. She had endured much under many physicians, and had spent all that she had; and she was no better, but rather grew worse. She had heard about Jesus, and came up behind him in the crowd and touched his cloak, for she said, “If I but touch his clothes, I will be made well.” Immediately her hemorrhage stopped; and she felt in her body that she was healed of her disease.” (Verses 25-29)

I thought I understood the plight of this woman, but because of now suffering myself from a disease that I have seen a good many doctors for I can understand at a greater depth her suffering. At one time I felt sympathy for her because of the type of illness she had – the abnormal shedding of blood, which in the society that Jesus lived in would have ostracized her. But now I sympathize with her because she had sought treatment from so many but nothing helped and it only grew worse. I feel that way too. I also admire her faith and belief that Jesus could heal her with just a touch. I long ago gave up on my being healed through the spiritual touch of God/Jesus; and if I was in her place, knowing what she probably knew of Jesus (meaning as a prophet and man of God but not Divine) I am not sure I could have held the same faith as she did.

Immediately aware that power had gone forth from him, Jesus turned about in the crowd and said, “Who touched my clothes?” And his disciples said to him, “You see the crowd pressing in on you; how can you say, ‘Who touched me?’” He looked all around to see who had done it. But the woman, knowing what had happened to her, came in fear and trembling, fell down before him, and told him the whole truth. He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has made you well; go in peace, and be healed of your disease.” (Verses 30-34)

It is not enough to want to be healed – I want to be healed! It is believing you will be healed. THAT is what drains power from the cloak of the Divine. I still have my afflictions; but I have also touched the spiritual cloak of the Divine believing that despite my afflictions I can keep going. And that has happened time and time again. My healing is not the woman’s healing in this story; but it is sufficient.

While he was still speaking, some people came from the leader’s house to say, “Your daughter is dead. Why trouble the teacher any further?” But overhearing what they said, Jesus said to the leader of the synagogue, “Do not fear, only believe.” He allowed no one to follow him except Peter, James, and John, the brother of James. When they came to the house of the leader of the synagogue, he saw a commotion, people weeping and wailing loudly. When he had entered, he said to them, “Why do you make a commotion and weep? The child is not dead but sleeping.” And they laughed at him.” (Verses 35-40a)

“Your disease is rare, and treatment for it is drastic. You must accept the inevitable.” When I read about what I had, I did despair. And it would have been easy to scale back all my activities and withdraw. But I decided to keep on doing what I felt called to do and needed to do. I am not giving up anything! I used to be afraid, but now I journey forth in belief and faith. And I have found a group of people to support me in my journey, as I support them.

Jesus knew what he would accomplish, and the small details – like the girl had passed away – was not going to stop the Lord Jesus. It would require unshakable believe, however, to accomplish this.

Then he put them all outside, and took the child’s father and mother and those who were with him, and went in where the child was. He took her by the hand and said to her, “Talitha cum,” which means, “Little girl, get up!” And immediately the girl got up and began to walk about (she was twelve years of age). At this they were overcome with amazement. He strictly ordered them that no one should know this, and told them to give her something to eat.(Verses 40b -43)

While this is the stuff of miracles, it is also grounded in normal life. When the body is alive, it needs food to continue its processes. And people make much hoopla and fanfare out of miracles. With all my afflictions, I still get up everyday and accomplish the things that need to be done. I have wondered more than once if I should just stop posting on this blog and shut it down. But the Spirit calls me to keep writing. It has become like food and drink to me.

May you, beloved reader, have faith to reach out to the spiritual cloak of our Lord for healing; and may our God bring you back to life when you feel ill and weary of all manner of things. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

One thought on “Season After Pentecost – Being Healed (The Gospel Passage)

  1. Thank you. I fight my diseases, I have two autoimmune diseases, Mixed Connective Tissue Disease, very similar to lupus, and Behcet’s Disease, an inflammatory autoimmune, with complications (my 18 year old son says I collect diagnoses like some people collect bottle caps. He thinks he’s hysterical.) The latest of these last week is relatively minor, I was in the ER where they did a CT scan and found pleurisy was the reason for my very painful breathing, but it also showed new enlarged lymph nodes in both armpits and the center of my chest, that have never shown up in a scan before, and I usually get a few a year for one reason or another. The family doctor sent me to the oncologist, who is doing a biopsy next week of the lymph node in the right armpit, the largest, removing it altogether, but I’m not supposed be worried. I have been sick with these diseases for 17 years, almost all of my son’s life, who has High Functioning Autism, and my daughter is 22. But, you’re right Jesus has brought me so much healing, over and over, in the last 17 years, along with causing my faith and trust in Him to grow deeper and stronger, since it is something I have to use every day, and my love for Him, my long, winding uphill climb of a wander through this world with Him, and my constant amazement at Him, His Grace, Power, Love, and the beauty and perfection of His Way as I try to follow Him in it, those things are just becoming more. More everything. Plus I have met people I have never met, online who also have autoimmune diseases, or moms of kids with autism, and my relationships with people in my family, my husband, and my friends in church and the world, have gotten deeper, more honest, and more real, as we have been through things together, and because I find I don’t have the emotional energy for just meaningless arguments and things, I tend to cut right into the connection part of the conversation anymore, even with strangers a lot of times. Getting through each day with a chronic illness is a huge wrestling match, isn’t it??? There is the fatigue, or the pain, or the mental challenges, or the emotional and spiritual will to even fight another time, when you wake up already exhausted. But we do it. There are people counting on us, and Jesus has more in store for me to do for His Kingdom, in His Kingdom, His family, and He is right there alongside of me, He never has left me for a second, even now when I am so very scared. Perfect love casts out fear, is what John wrote in his letter, but I tend to find in my life that is an ongoing process. But the staying alive, the living, that is made more beautiful by His grace, healing and love, and the beauty is worth everything.

    Like

Your comments are welcome

