Season After Pentecost – Praising God in the midst of the City (The Psalms Passage)

Great is the Lord and greatly to be praised in the city of our God.
His holy mountain, beautiful in elevation, is the joy of all the earth,
Mount Zion, in the far north, the city of the great King.
Within its citadels God has shown himself a sure defense.” (Psalms 48:1-3)

I had a frustrating day today – not that is, the day you are reading this beloved reader; but the day I wrote it. In-between not feeling good were times of figuring out and arranging, and trying to remember what I wanted to do before I was interrupted from what as was doing before/after the previous interruption. So I was glad to see that it was the Psalms Passage that was next on the schedule. I had fears that it might have been the Old Testament Passage and I was not sure I was equal to dealing with that. But hey! It is the end of the day! I can praise God for that and getting me through the day!

Then the kings assembled, they came on together.
As soon as they saw it, they were astounded; they were in panic, they took to flight; trembling took hold of them there, pains as of a woman in labor, as when an east wind shatters “the ships of Tarshish.” (Verses 4 – 7)

Does not sound like the assembled kings were having any better a day than I was. In fact, I think I may have done better than they! I did not run away from my day! I did not panic! I was not in pain – at least not because of the day at work. I did not shatter!!

But of course, neither was I coming to God as an adversary or enemy which is the sense of these verses, that the assembled kings came to the holy city (meaning the city of David I think) in order to assess it and see if they could attack it and win. Rather than coming against the holy city as an adversary, I was seeking God in my day and had asked the Lord to be with me.


As we have heard, so have we seen in the city of the Lord of hosts, in the city of our God, which God establishes forever. Selah” (Verse 8)

In the day of the psalmist, the city of our God was a geographical place. It existed in space and time. So that one could go to it, and see it, checking out whether it matched up to its reputation. In our day the city of the Lord of hosts in not in any specific geographical place but exists as a spiritual reality – and no, that is not an incompatible idea. The Lord’s city exists, but it is made out of faith and belief in the power of God; and since the power of the Lord will never fail, it exists forever!

We ponder your steadfast love, O God, in the midst of your temple.
Your name, O God, like your praise, reaches to the ends of the earth.
Your right hand is filled with victory.

Let Mount Zion be glad, let the towns of Judah rejoice because of your judgments.” (Verses 9-11)

Whether it is the time of the psalmist, or our modern times, the Lord is worthy of praise.

Walk about Zion, go all around it, count its towers, consider well its ramparts; go through its citadels,
that you may tell the next generation that this is God, our God forever and ever. He will be our guide forever.” (Verses 12 – 14)

How, you may ask beloved reader, are you supposed to walk around and tour a “spiritual reality”? I would love to leave that question hovering around you, beloved reader. I could, I suppose try to explain it. But I am not sure my explanation would be helpful or illuminating. You sort of have to experience it to understand it. Perhaps the best thing to do is to wait until this posts, and then see if any one of you asks for an explanation.

May the Lord ease all of your days, beloved reader, and may you dwell in the city of the Lord of hosts. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

