Season After Pentecost – Living Under the Blessing of God (The Psalm Passage)

I have found my servant David; with my holy oil I have anointed him; my hand shall always remain with him; my arm also shall strengthen him.
The enemy shall not outwit him, the wicked shall not humble him.
I will crush his foes before him and strike down those who hate him.” (Psalm 89:20-23)

I have had some hard days lately, and I have been very slow to do the writing for this week. I saved the Psalm passage for last because I wanted that to be what I focused on before the Sunday when this weeks passages might be a part of worship services. Yes, if you have not figured out yet, beloved reader, the passages I comment on each week are for the Sunday that is coming and not reflections on what had been used the Sunday before. It is the way (or can be the way) the Revised Common Lectionary is used in communities that gather for worship or devotions.

I had not yet decided what I would say about the Psalm passage nor how I would present it. But as I read it in preparation for writing, it spoke to me in a certain way. If King David wrote the majority of the psalms (which many bible scholars believe) then he wrote about himself as he envisioned God thinking and considering him. And if King David, why not us? What not read this psalm with ourselves in mind? As I just did. “I have found my servant Carole”

“My faithfulness and steadfast love shall be with him [her] ; and in my name his [her] horn shall be exalted.” (Verse 24)

Of course, not everything that applied to King David can, or should, apply to us.

“I will set his hand on the sea and his right hand on the rivers.” (Verse 25)

But what can be applied to us is the same type of protection and blessing that David received. And we can come to the Lord God the same way that David did, before and after he became king.

“He shall cry to me, ‘You are my Father, my God, and the Rock of my salvation!’ (Verses 26)

It is at these points in the Psalm passages that I especially place my name in – crying out to God and depending on the Lord.

“I will make him the firstborn, the highest of the kings of the earth.” (Verse 27)

And in thinking about it, while we may not be of royal line, we are as deserving and worthy of God’s love and tender attention as anyone else. So why should we not, keeping our own situation in mind, aspire to the love, attention and exaltation that we pray is bestowed on our rulers!

“Forever I will keep my steadfast love for him, and my covenant with him will stand firm.
I will establish his line forever, and his throne as long as the heavens endure.” (Verses 28 – 29)

For we are all under God, subject to the rules and admonitions of God.

“If his children forsake my law and do not walk according to my ordinances, if they violate my statutes
and do not keep my commandments, then I will punish their transgression with the rod and their iniquity with scourges; but I will not remove from him my steadfast love, or be false to my faithfulness.”(Verses 30-33)

Each person stands before God, either in the life to come or in the world now, to be held accountable for what they have done and believed. I say “in the world now” because not everyone wants until the Judgment Day in being held accountable. There is a spiritual disciple, the Conscious Examen, where each day you review what you did and said, asking for forgiveness in that places and time when you went “astray”; and praising God for the good things and blessings in the day.

“I will not violate my covenant, or alter the word that went forth from my lips.
Once and for all I have sworn by my holiness; I will not lie to David.” (verses 34-35)

The writer of this Psalm believed that God is faithful to each person who has offered up their will and life to God. We may not merit the rank and privilege of royalty; or any other accolade that is valued by society. But we are honored by God, if we honor God. What God has established in each of us will not fade away.

His line shall continue forever, and his throne endure before me like the sun.
It shall be established forever like the moon, an enduring witness in the skies. Selah “ (Verses 36-37)

You are worthy, beloved reader. And I, with all my faults and failings, am worthy too. We have been called to live for God. And we shall do so with all the strength and power we possess.

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

