Season After Pentecost – What we need, and when we need it (The Epistle Passage)

Are any among you suffering? They should pray. Are any cheerful? They should sing songs of praise. Are any among you sick? They should call for the elders of the church and have them pray over them, anointing them with oil in the name of the Lord. The prayer of faith will save the sick, and the Lord will raise them up; and anyone who has committed sins will be forgiven. Therefore confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another, so that you may be healed. The prayer of the righteous is powerful and effective. Elijah was a human being like us, and he prayed fervently that it might not rain, and for three years and six months it did not rain on the earth. Then he prayed again, and the heaven gave rain and the earth yielded its harvest. My brothers and sisters, if anyone among you wanders from the truth and is brought back by another, you should know that whoever brings back a sinner from wandering will save the sinner’s soul from death and will cover a multitude of sins.” (James 5:13-20)

I confess, beloved reader, I am a little tired of James. The writer of James makes everything so simple and straightforward, when often life is full and complicated. At least . . . that is how I am feeling about my life as I sit down to write about this passage.

I know I am not being true to you as beloved readers if I allow my “feelings in the moment” to dictate how I present this passage to you. What I should say is . . . here is proof that renewing and recommitting your life to God will bring you great rewards. That prayer and faith circles do much to encourage and inspire. That writer of James, in the passage above, gives ample reason to return to God. Being supported by prayer, being surrounded by people of cheer, being ministered to by the elders of the church, having the power of God on your side, and last but certainly not least, salvation itself.

But I sit here, knowing all that, but yet . . . I have a headache, there are many things I need to do and arrange. I have responsibilities, and people are depending on me to accomplish many things. I am tired and weary, ailing and overextended. And wondering if I am on the right path. In other words, the words from the letter from James do little for me.

What do I need? Well, someone to pray for me and anoint me. Someone to sing cheerful songs to me. I guess what I really need is someone like James to minister to me. I just do not have the strength and energy to be a “James”; I want someone to be a “James” to/for me! We all, at some time or another need to have someone to minister to us. I guess this is my day to want/need that.

My blessing for you today then would be that you would have or find someone to minister to you. I cannot ask you to minister to others when I cannot do the same. So may you have people in your life who would pray for you and tend to your needs. Shalom!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

2 thoughts on “Season After Pentecost – What we need, and when we need it (The Epistle Passage)

  1. Barry Schaeffer says:

    Father God,

    I pray of one accord with Carole that You will pour out the new wine of Your kingdom on her aching head, that You will lift up her weary frame and give her great Peace.

    I ask in the name of Jesus.

    Like

  2. Carole, I hope you found that “James” when you needed someone and that my comment today might encourage you also. May God grant you rest and refreshment.

    Like

Your comments are welcome

