Season After Pentecost – Hanging out with Job (The Old Testament Passage)

Then Job answered:
Today also my complaint is bitter; his hand is heavy despite my groaning.
Oh, that I knew where I might find him, that I might come even to his dwelling!
I would lay my case before him, and fill my mouth with arguments.
I would learn what he would answer me, and understand what he would say to me.
Would he contend with me in the greatness of his power?
No; but he would give heed to me.” ( Job 23:1-6)

I have been reading off and on a book about making prayers of lament to God as opposed to praising God. The book’s premise is that we praise God so often that we ignore the fact that we can mourn and lament about our situation to God. There are many biblical passages that make lament to God and can be used in our modern times and situations. This portion of Job gives a good portrait of someone being to God their troubles and difficulties, and expecting to be heard.

“There an upright person could reason with him, and I should be acquitted forever by my judge.” (Verse 7)

The Lord God welcomes all who come to the Divine to contend or plead. Do not think, beloved reader, that the Lord God will turn away or not hear the Lord’s children pleading and crying.

Job, however, feels his experience is different. If you read verses 1 to 6 carefully you will hear that Job has NOT presented his case to God because he does not feel he can find God.

If I go forward, he is not there; or backward, I cannot perceive him; on the left he hides, and I cannot behold him; I turn to the right, but I cannot see him.” (Verses 8 – 9)

Later on in the chapter Job says,

God has made my heart faint; the Almighty has terrified me; If only I could vanish in darkness, and thick darkness would cover my face!” (Verses 16-17)

Job talks a great deal about God, but does not often talk TO God. We learned last week that Job made sacrifices to God and had knowledge OF God. But there is not much proof Job interacted with God. And that I find interesting.

I looked more closely at the scripture passages in the coming weeks, and I discovered we do hear more of the story of Job. “Check in” next week to hear more about Job. And, beloved reader, I encourage you to bring all things to God, talking to God about your joys and sorrows. Shalom!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

