Season After Pentecost – Waiting on me, and on the Lord (The Psalms Passage)

My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?
Why are you so far from helping me, from the words of my groaning?
O my God, I cry by day, but you do not answer;
and by night, but find no rest.” (Psalms 22:1-2)

It is not often I make a mistake like this, completely miss posting a blog/column entry. I am not why or how I completely skipped or missed out on posting the Psalms passage. Since I post a week ahead, I can only conclude that week was so filled that I just forgot.

Thanks be to God that the Lord does not forget us. Even though the psalmist seems to be crying out to God to no avail, God had not abandoned the psalmist, nor does the Lord abandon us. I have often said – if it seems God is far away from us, it may be that we are far away from God – but I do not mean to imply that the psalmist has gone away from God, nor that any one else has. Things can get in-between us and God, and many times we have not done anything to make that happen. Rest assured that God is reaching out to us as we reach out to God. God does not have a “memory blip” and forget!

Yet you are holy, enthroned on the praises of Israel.
In you our ancestors trusted; they trusted, and you delivered them.
To you they cried, and were saved; in you they trusted, and were not put to shame.(Verses 3-5)

Coming so close to the passage on Job, we might think and ponder on whether Job distanced himself from God, or whether Job’s sorrows and afflictions came to be in-between and in the way of Job and God connecting. We have at least two more weeks of the story of Job, and it will be interesting to see how it turns out.

When I realized I had forgotten to write and post on this scripture passage, I had to decide whether I would quickly write and post for Oct 10th, or wait until the 11th. And I decided to wait. Since I have given explanation of why it is a day late, I decided to continue in the theme of possibly being abandoned and left on one’s own. As I said, I would not do that intentionally. And the Lord is infinitely more prompt than I. But still, we do have to sometimes “wait on the Lord” as you have had to wait on this posting.

May the Lord be ever present to you, beloved reader, and may your waiting on the Lord be as short as Divinely possible. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

