Season After Pentecost – The Lord speaks to Job, and we listen in. (The Old Testament Passage)

Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind:
Who is this that darkens counsel by words without knowledge?
Gird up your loins like a man, I will question you, and you shall declare to me.

Where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth? Tell me, if you have understanding.
Who determined its measurements—surely you know! Or who stretched the line upon it?
On what were its bases sunk, or who laid its cornerstone when the morning stars sang together
and all the heavenly beings shouted for joy?” (Job 38:1-7)

To be questioned by the Lord is not an easy thing to withstand. I do not speak entirely from experience because I cannot remember a time that I challenged God as Job did. But that is not to say I have not had the Lord correct me and redirect me.

When I first read this portion of Job, or at least when I read it as an understanding young adult, I was blown away. I guess it so took hold of me that I did not dare question God – at least not to the extent that I experienced Job doing. But the Lord and I have had conversations, many conversations, about what going on in my life and in the world around me. Read more of the Lord’s questions of Job.

Can you lift up your voice to the clouds, so that a flood of waters may cover you?
Can you send forth lightnings, so that they may go and say to you, ‘Here we are’?
Who has put wisdom in the inward parts, or given understanding to the mind?
Who has the wisdom to number the clouds? Or who can tilt the waterskins of the heavens, when the dust runs into a mass and the clods cling together?

Can you hunt the prey for the lion, or satisfy the appetite of the young lions, when they crouch in their dens, or lie in wait in their covert?
Who provides for the raven its prey, when its young ones cry to God, and wander about for lack of food?” (Verses 34-41)

The questioning of Job continues for three more chapters. Next week we will look at what happened next. If you are curious, go ahead and read ahead. My favorite part is about the leviathans!

And if you question the Lord, and I if you do so you do it humbly and meekly, may our God answer you with all the compassion that is the Divine. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

