Season After Pentecost – Blessings of a house and life under God’s direction (The Psalm Passage)

Unless the Lord builds the house, those who build it labor in vain.
Unless the Lord guards the city, the guard keeps watch in vain.“ (Psalm 127, Verse 1)

I wish, beloved reader, that I could have those two simple lines sink deep into your bones down to your very core. Anything that we might do on our own, apart from God, is better done with God. And anything that we do with God is done better than if we were on our own.


“It is in vain that you rise up early and go late to rest, eating the bread of anxious toil; for he gives sleep to his beloved.” (Verse 2)

This is true also, beloved reader. I do not always sleep well, for various physical and emotional reasons. But sleep is better if I start out sleeping by praying to God. In fact I have often fallen asleep praying to God.

But the psalm turns a corner.

Sons are indeed a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb a reward.
Like arrows in the hand of a warrior are the sons of one’s youth.
Happy is the man who has his quiver full of them.
He shall not be put to shame when he speaks with his enemies in the gate.” (Verses 3 to 5)

I have two sons, not quite a full “quiver”. But they both bring my joy. I also have a daughter who brings me equal joy. And with the three of them my “quiver” is quite full. And my joy complete.

This psalm makes a good compliment to the story of Ruth. Naomi was assured of being taken care of, having a grandson. And as the father to Jesse who was the father to David, that is quite a legacy for one family. But even more so, Jesus’ earthly father, Joseph, was also in the line of David. And do not forget the mother’s of all these men who I am sure had equal influence in their being raised up as men of God.

Unless God is the guiding point of any venture, or any life, it is in vain. Do not live in vain beloved reader. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

