First Week of Advent – A Prayer written by another but bestowed upon you! (The Epistle Passage)

When the writer of I Thessalonians (thought to be Paul) prays, I stop and pay attention. I may disagree with him at times, but not his prayers. And many times, like the passage, I wish I could take it as my own – either as a prayer on my behalf or as a prayer I want to pray for others. In this particular instance, I would pray it on your behalf, beloved reader.

How can we thank God enough for you in return for all the joy that we feel before our God because of you? Night and day we pray most earnestly that we may see you face to face and restore whatever is lacking in your faith.” (I Thessalonians 3:9-10)

Now, let my explain a little. I am not assuming that there is anything lacking in your faith. I would never make that judgment. But if you do have needs, spiritual and/or faith needs, it would be my most fervent prayer that those things are given and bestowed upon you. Not because of anything I might say or write, but that Spirit would gift you with those things. I do not know if Paul meant that he/himself/personally would restore or bestow (although at times/when I am in a certain mood, I would not put it past him). However, beloved reader, you do give me joy when I think of you, all of you, out there making time in your day to read what I have to say/write.

Now may our God and Father himself and our Lord Jesus direct our way to you. And may the Lord make you increase and abound in love for one another and for all, just as we abound in love for you. And may he so strengthen your hearts in holiness that you may be blameless before our God and Father at the coming of our Lord Jesus with all his saints.” (Verses 11-13)

Amen! And selah! May the beginning days of this season of Advent find you increasing and abounding in love!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

