Third Sunday After Epiphany: The Psalm Passage – Speaking directly to you about Psalms 19, Beloved Reader

The heavens are telling the glory of God; and the firmament proclaims his handiwork.
Day to day pours forth speech, and night to night declares knowledge.
There is no speech, nor are there words; their voice is not heard; yet their voice goes out through all the earth, and their words to the end of the world.” (Psalm 19:1-4a)

I am sitting down after a long day; and have a small measure of reluctance and resistance to writing something tonight. And yet, when I read these first 4 (almost 4 complete) verses I find I have something to say, and do wish to say it. These 4 verses remind me of the internet. You cannot hear me, beloved reader, but you read my words and they do go out “through all the earth”; and I am reminded again of the awesome (meaning awed and overwhelmed) responsibility of doing this four times a week! And I used do do it daily!!

In the heavens he has set a tent for the sun, which comes out like a bridegroom from his wedding canopy, and like a strong man runs its course with joy.
Its rising is from the end of the heavens, and its circuit to the end of them; and nothing is hid from its heat.” (Verses 4b to 6)

And an awesome God (meaning the Divine causes me to be awed and overwhelmed) has called me to this task. It is something I humbly do. When I first started I was very intimidated and overwhelmed, and not sure if people would want to read what I have to say. While I no longer feel reticent about writing this blog, I still honored and humbled that it has continued for so long. But then, commenting on the scriptures, I have good material to write on!

The law of the Lord is perfect, reviving the soul; the decrees of the Lord are sure, making wise the simple; the precepts of the Lord are right, rejoicing the heart; the commandment of the Lord is clear, enlightening the eyes; the fear of the Lord is pure, enduring forever; the ordinances of the Lord are true
and righteous altogether.

More to be desired are they than gold, even much fine gold; sweeter also than honey, and drippings of the honeycomb. Moreover by them is your servant warned; in keeping them there is great reward.” (Verses 7 to 10)

Many years ago, I read the lectionary passages as my own private devotions time, and wrote on them and about them for my own use and reflections. So I am very familiar with them. Coming back to reading and writing on them weekly is like reviving a dear and precious spiritual discipline. But I try not to write “personal stuff” because, well, I am not convinced you, beloved reader, want to read my really personal stuff. But I take the verses to heart and write as general reflection leads. I am careful that I do not overstep any boundaries.

But who can detect their errors?
Clear me from hidden faults. Keep back your servant also from the insolent; do not let them have dominion over me. Then I shall be blameless, and innocent of great transgression.” (Verses 11 to 13)

In all my writings, whether personal for me or shared with others, it has always been my prayer and plea . . .

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable to you, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer.” (Verses 14)

May you, beloved reader, take these scripture passages into your heart. Reflect on them, and share with the Divine – if no other. And may my prayer of being found acceptable to God be yours also! Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

