Fourth Sunday After Epiphany: The Psalm Passage – A Prayer for God’s Preeminence

In you, O Lord, I take refuge; let me never be put to shame.” (Psalm 71:1)

What does that mean to you, beloved reader, never being put to shame? If it wasn’t the fact that it is the Divine being I asked, I would say it is an impossible idea. Either the one asking would have to be made so perfect, or the Divine would be consistently hiding or “magically” correcting everything.

But in reading the biblical commentaries I see that they take a different meaning from this verse. The writer wishes never to be put to shame by believing and relying on God; that the onus in on God to come through and be all that the believer hopes. This to me seems be just as big a request. It depends so much, beloved reader, on the attitude and actions of the believer and demands that God be whatever it is the the believer wants and needs our Lord to be.


“In your righteousness deliver me and rescue me; incline your ear to me and save me.
Be to me a rock of refuge, a strong fortress, to save me, for you are my rock and my fortress.”

(Verses 2 – 3)

I guess what I feel is missing from this petition is the desire to be so changed and formed by God that we are aligned to God instead of God aligning to us. But it could well be the feeling and attitude that I, myself, am bringing to these verses. So maybe it is my attitude and perspective that needs to be realigned.

Rescue me, O my God, from the hand of the wicked, from the grasp of the unjust and cruel.
For you, O Lord, are my hope, my trust, O Lord, from my youth.
Upon you I have leaned from my birth; it was you who took me from my mother’s womb.
My praise is continually of you.” (Verses 4-6)

Lord God,
I come with all my faults and failings; and with my attitude and will that battles against your judgment, guidance, and precepts. I pray Lord that yours might win, and that mine would fade away so that it seems like they never existed. May your guidance for my life be what I follow, and your wisdom what I guide my life by. Rescue me from all those who come against me; but more importantly Lord, rescue me from myself! Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

