Second Sunday of Lent 2016: The Epistle Passage – Paul writes from his heart and mine

Brothers and sisters, join in imitating me, and observe those who live according to the example you have in us. For many live as enemies of the cross of Christ; I have often told you of them, and now I tell you even with tears. Their end is destruction; their god is the belly; and their glory is in their shame; their minds are set on earthly things. But our citizenship is in heaven, and it is from there that we are expecting a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ. He will transform the body of our humiliation that it may be conformed to the body of his glory, by the power that also enables him to make all things subject to himself. Therefore, my brothers and sisters, whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, stand firm in the Lord in this way, my beloved.” (Philippians 3:17 – 4:1)

This evening my health is not very good, and I am struggling to accomplish those things that are of utmost importance to me. Caring for my family, and writing to you beloved reader. I am fortunate that the RCL is citing something that the writer of Philippians has written that I can endorse fully. As you may already know, the attributed writer of much of the epistles is someone I have frequent “conversations” with and about. But this passage comes from his heart, and echoes the sentiments in mine.

I feel like I have also told you of those who are enemies of the cross of Jesus Christ, and often telling you about it has brought me to tears. And I would add that is all devoutly believing Christians whose citizenship is in heaven. Through Christ’s sacrifice our citizenship is assured, and through God’s love, mercy, grace, and forgiveness that citizenship in heaven remains open to us. Let us do all that Paul encourages us to, my brothers and sisters – my beloved readers. I love and long for you also, and hope and pray that you are standing firm in the Lord! Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

