Third Sunday of Lent 2016: The Psalms Passage – Knowing where and who to turn to

“O God, you are my God, I seek you, my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water. So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary, beholding your power and glory. Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you. So I will bless you as long as I live; I will lift up my hands and call on your name. My soul is satisfied as with a rich feast, and my mouth praises you with joyful lips when I think of you on my bed, and meditate on you in the watches of the night; for you have been my help, and in the shadow of your wings I sing for joy. My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me.” (Psalm 63:1-8)

I am feeling a little guilty, beloved reader, for using the psalms passage from last week as my own personal sounding board for what is going on in my life. It is one thing to appropriate a passage and use a certain type of “lens” to view it with. But quite another to take as a “vehicle” to get you to a personal destination. That has been done many times by many people; and I have done it myself to make a certain point. But just using it to speak through does not feel quite right to me.

So I was very pleased to see and read this week’s psalm passage. It is a very personal psalm and no doubt the psalmist (who is thought to be King David) used it to express deep feelings that he had – yes, like I did in a way. But the psalmist was speaking to God – directly to God. And that is what this psalm deserves; that it be kept as a prayer to God. A prayer of thanksgiving and praise. So I am writing on it NOW before anything else happens in my week.

However, in times of trouble and distress (which is what I was going through when I wrote on Psalms 27) this is a good psalm to think on and remember that God is there for us always. My hope and prayer, beloved reader, is that the sentiments in this psalm reflect what your relationship with your Lord is like. Resting and depending on the Lord during the season of Lent and other seasons of sorrow is a good thing to do. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

