Third Sunday of Lent 2016: The Old Testament Passage – An “old friend” Isaiah 55 is.

Ho, everyone who thirsts, come to the waters; and you that have no money, come, buy and eat!
Come, buy wine and milk without money and without price.
Why do you spend your money for that which is not bread, and your labor for that which does not satisfy? Listen carefully to me, and eat what is good, and delight yourselves in rich food.
Incline your ear, and come to me; listen, so that you may live. I will make with you an everlasting covenant, my steadfast, sure love for David.
See, I made him a witness to the peoples, a leader and commander for the peoples.

See, you shall call nations that you do not know, and nations that do not know you shall run to you,
because of the Lord your God, the Holy One of Israel, for he has glorified you.

Seek the Lord while he may be found, call upon him while he is near; let the wicked forsake their way, and the unrighteous their thoughts; let them return to the Lord, that he may have mercy on them, and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon.
For my thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways my ways, says the Lord.
For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” (Isaiah 55:1-9)

This is old ground, beloved reader. Very old ground, and a good old friend. I have written on this passage from Isaiah 55 so often that I am not sure I could think of anything new to say. I have much that I have written that could; either in the text of this posting or through inserting links. I am not even sure I could compile a list of every post, meditation, or reflection I have ever written on this passage without missing something. Although, if you search on the “A Simple Desire” page for Isaiah 55 it will retrieve everything I have posted here about it. I tried it, and was pleased to see that it remembers better than I do! Looking back on what I have said about this passage, I see I have even suggested imagining visuals concerning this post. Who ever the writer was for this section of Isaiah, that person and I resonant. In fact, come to think about it, after Paul and I are done our conversation in the life to come, I would probably seek out the writer(s) of Isaiah, just to meet them.

I could pick out the “best of” and put it here. I thought too maybe I could have “Seeker” and “Preacher” say something about this passage; more likely it would just be me recycling my thoughts and putting it into their conversation. I think better for today would be to encourage you, beloved reader, to think and ponder about this passage for yourself. And if it ever comes up again – which it most likely will, I will try to find something new and fresh to say. In the meantime, may the Spirit of God prompt your thinking and bless your meditations. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

