Fourth Sunday of Lent 2016: The Epistles Passage – Knowing our Lord and being reconciled

From now on, therefore, we regard no one from a human point of view; even though we once knew Christ from a human point of view, we know him no longer in that way.” (II Corinthians 5:16)

In what way do you know Christ, beloved reader? As a earthly man who did good things? As a Godly man who was influenced by God? A man who came from God and had a mission in the world that came from God? These are just some of the variations and permeation that one might know Christ as. What is your way of knowing our Lord God Jesus Christ?

So if anyone is in Christ, there is a new creation: everything old has passed away; see, everything has become new! All this is from God, who reconciled us to himself through Christ, and has given us the ministry of reconciliation; that is, in Christ God was reconciling the world to himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and entrusting the message of reconciliation to us. So we are ambassadors for Christ, since God is making his appeal through us; we entreat you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God. For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.” (Verses 5:17-21)

Bible commentators, while have a slightly differing interpretations, are pretty uniform that Paul did not KNOW Jesus but knew of him and did not think him to be worthy of following. Indeed, when Paul was Saul he persecuted the followers of Christ. But that role and person is now history. Now Paul follows and preaches of Christ. Paul has never been shy about speaking about his faith, theology, and beliefs.

The season of Lent is a good time to get to know Jesus, and through Jesus, God. The weeks of Lent are quickly slipping away. There is only one more Sunday of Lent. Maundy Thursday, Good Friday and Easter Sunday will be here soon than we may think. And since there is only a one-way interaction, I am not sure where you are in your journey. As I write this, I am actually a week behind of this “place” and “time.”

The view from where I am now is this – there have been some unexpected events and some unexpected results. I am learning, or have learned anew, that I cannot predict what will happen. And nor should I. God has been faithful in ways I cannot imagine. My confession has been one of fear – that I am afraid and do not see how my fears can be met and quelled. But God has seen and knows my fear, and has answered those fears with Divine plans that I could not even imagine. My penance, beloved reader, is that I have to admit that I was too afraid to believe that God would have a solution. That is sort of a confession too, I guess.

In comparison to other confessions and penances, I suppose it is not too difficult to carry out. But the problem with fear is that you can justify so many things by saying, “I was too afraid to . . “ when all the time God could foresee what was going to happen. If shame and embarrassment is a penance, than that is mine.

May you, beloved reader, confession the things, places, and times that you have . . . well, let’s just leave it that God knows what you need to confess. And you find that God’s forgiveness, mercy and grace is yours in abundance. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

