Fourth Sunday of Lent 2016: The Psalms Passage – Preacher and Seeker 1 preach to Seeker 2 (and us)

Seeker 1: “Happy are those whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered. Happy are those to whom the Lord imputes no iniquity, and in whose spirit there is no deceit.”

Preacher: “While I kept silence, my body wasted away through my groaning all day long.”

Seeker 2: Yeah, I would be happy if all my sins, my “transgressions” were forgiven. But I don’t see how keeping silent about them is going to make me suffer.

Preacher: “For day and night your hand was heavy upon me; my strength was dried up as by the heat of summer.”

Seeker 1: “Selah!”

Seeker 2: Okay, so maybe I was feeling kinda bad and remorseful. I’m not perfect you know.

Preacher: “Then I acknowledged my sin to you, and I did not hide my iniquity;”

Seeker 1: “I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord,” and you forgave the guilt of my sin.”

Preacher: “Selah.”

Seeker 2: You know, this season of Lent is not easy; especially for someone like me who does not talk a lot about what I am feeling inside. It is hard for me to open up; and I can be just as hard for me to talk to God as it is to people about what I am feeling – my hurts, my sins and such.

Seeker 1: “Therefore let all who are faithful offer prayer to you; at a time of distress, the rush of mighty waters shall not reach them.”

Seeker 2: I know for listening to you two that it is better to talk to God and get right with God than it is to hide away. And I know more often than not I try to struggle through things on my own than to let anyone, God or anyone else know what is going on.

Preacher: “You are a hiding place for me; you preserve me from trouble; you surround me with glad cries of deliverance.”

Seeker 1: “Selah.”

Seeker 2: I get it; talk to God. Talk to others who can help me understand God and what God can do for me. But when I am knee deep in trouble, I just don’t think about “falling on my knees” so to speak.

Preacher: “I will instruct you and teach you the way you should go; I will counsel you with my eye upon you.”

Seeker 1: “Do not be like a horse or a mule, without understanding, whose temper must be curbed with bit and bridle, else it will not stay near you.”

Seeker 2: Now just hold on! That is just a little bit harsh and rough. Just because I may not turn to God first thing, doesn’t mean there is anything wrong with me!

Seeker 1: “Many are the torments of the wicked, but steadfast love surrounds those who trust in the Lord.”

Seeker 2: I am not wicked! [sniff] I don’t want to be wicked. I do want God and I need God’s steadfast love! And I do want to develop steadfast love for God!

Preacher: “Be glad in the Lord and rejoice, O righteous, and shout for joy, all you upright in heart.” (Psalms 32)

Seeker 2: I will try. Especially in this season of Lent, I will try to be the person God wants me to be. Then I will rejoice and be glad in the Lord. Then I will shout for joy. Let it be as you say, O God. Selah!

 

 

Oh beloved reader, there is so much commentary, explanation and insight I want to give on what is going one here with Preacher, Seeker 1 and Seeker 2. Their characters, their purpose, their faith and outlook on life. And how they see God. I am hoping you can “read between the lines” and see what I tried to craft and create. And I hope in some small way it contributes to your journey through this season of Lent. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

