Seventh Sunday of Easter: The Gospel Passage – A reminder of the blessings from Easter

I ask not only on behalf of these, but also on behalf of those who will believe in me through their word, that they may all be one. As you, Father, are in me and I am in you, may they also be in us, so that the world may believe that you have sent me. The glory that you have given me I have given them, so that they may be one, as we are one, I in them and you in me, that they may become completely one, so that the world may know that you have sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me. Father, I desire that those also, whom you have given me, may be with me where I am, to see my glory, which you have given me because you loved me before the foundation of the world.

Righteous Father, the world does not know you, but I know you; and these know that you have sent me. I made your name known to them, and I will make it known, so that the love with which you have loved me may be in them, and I in them.” (John 17:20-26)

Stand back a moment, beloved reader. Feel the earnestness and intensity of this prayer that Jesus prayed for and over his disciples. The fervor and the desire that Jesus had that they might receive the good and love that is God. Theological after theological concept, spilling over from one petition to the next. Now, if you are ready, we will look at this piece by piece.

This prayer was not just for his disciples that were there to hear, but those who would come to believe in Jesus over time – that is us, beloved reader. This is clear from the very first verse in this passage. Then Jesus ushers us into relationship with God and Jesus, one in the other and we in them both. And the world, if it will see, is witness to this. And if they will hear our words that have been passed down through the generations, then each generation and each hearer will be heir to the glory that Jesus called down from God.

While my explanation may be relatively short, the implications are huge. Not that I have explained it so eloquently or mightily – no, but that there is eloquence and might in what Jesus prayed. And ONLY Jesus could have prayed it, because only Jesus is so glorified by God. We may be heirs and kin to this, but it comes not from what we are nor what we do, but from God through Jesus. Mighty words that remind us what Easter brought. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

One thought on “Seventh Sunday of Easter: The Gospel Passage – A reminder of the blessings from Easter

  1. mgshepard says:

    Reblogged this on mgshepard.

    Like

Your comments are welcome

