Season After Pentecost: The Psalms Passage – Peering in to the mind and life of King David (and me)

Give ear to my words, O Lord; give heed to my sighing.
Listen to the sound of my cry, my King and my God,
for to you I pray.” (Psalm 5:1-2)

When I first sat down to write on these verses, I knew I was not ready too. I was feeling very impatient and stressed. I find that happens a lot with the psalm; if the psalm is one of lament, I can not put up with “hearing” another person wail and complain. And if the psalm is one of joy and thanksgiving, I do not want to “hear” it because I am too deep in the depths of my own sorrow to hear another’s joy. This is an important consideration when writing about and commenting on any passage of scripture. You must be able to approach it responding only to what is there, and not the “baggage” that you bring to it. Not, mind you, one’s own and unique perspective but one’s passing prejudices and biases. Today, beloved reader, I am able to approach this psalm as it ought to be. And thankful that the Lord did hear MY words and sighing when I was in the depths of my own stuff.

O Lord, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I plead my case to you, and watch.
For you are not a God who delights in wickedness; evil will not sojourn with you.
The boastful will not stand before your eyes; you hate all evildoers.
You destroy those who speak lies; the Lord abhors the bloodthirsty and deceitful.” (Verses 3 – 6)

David, that is King David, is an interesting case study. He gets himself into these situations and then pleas to God for help and deliverance. I wonder if it ever occurred to him (because it has occurred to me) that if he resisted temptation a little more carefully and thought through things a little more clearly, he might not get himself into these types of problems. I think, further, when they say David was God’s man or a man after God’s own heart, it is meant that he came to the Lord with all his problems and challenges. And was not shy or embarrassed about letting others know that he had gotten himself into another difficult situation. I have to assume this because he gave these psalms to people to put them to music and have them sung publicly. And I admire that, and applaud his regularly going to and depending on God. (See, that is the value in waiting until I feel better – I can see the good and the positive.)

But I, through the abundance of your steadfast love, will enter your house,
I will bow down toward your holy temple in awe of you.
Lead me, O Lord, in your righteousness because of my enemies; make your way straight before me.” (Verses 7- 8)

I wondered about these last few verses, wanting to make sure I had straight in my own mind – before I wrote to/for you beloved reader – what they meant. King David is accordingly, in a round-about way, that he can be a doof; and rather than giving his enemies MORE proof of his doofiness, he wanted to be sure that he had the Lord’s guidance and direction straight in his own mind. That I admire too.

May you, beloved reader, come to the Lord with all that is in your head and your world. May you ask for the Lord’s direction before you proceed. And may the Lord guide you in all things. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

One thought on “Season After Pentecost: The Psalms Passage – Peering in to the mind and life of King David (and me)

  1. Manu says:

    Filled me with a lot of positivity for the weekend … Thanks !!

    Like

Your comments are welcome

