Season After Pentecost: The Psalm Passage – Claiming the promise in the psalm

Why do you boast, O mighty one, of mischief done against the godly?
All day long you are plotting destruction.
Your tongue is like a sharp razor, you worker of treachery.” (Psalm 52:1-2)

I am really trying, beloved reader, to take these psalms passage when and how they come. If I cast the “O mighty one” as the struggles I have, myself as the “godly”, and the situation I find myself in as I sit down to write, I can very happily echo the psalmist and say, “Why are you doing this to me?” While I am not subject to the “sharp razor” of a tongue, the throbbing in my head and the ache is my lungs does feel treacherous!

“You love evil more than good, and lying more than speaking the truth. Selah
You love all words that devour, O deceitful tongue.” (Verses 3 to 4)

I guess the psalmist (who here is clearly identified as David, before I think, he was king) is suffering because someone else cannot hold their tongue, or keep their mouth quiet and out of other people’s business. That is not my situation tonight; that is not to say I have not found my self at the mercy of someone else’s sharp tongue or treachery.

But God will break you down forever; he will snatch and tear you from your tent; he will uproot you from the land of the living. Selah
The righteous will see, and fear, and will laugh at the evildoer, saying,
“See the one who would not take refuge in God,
but trusted in abundant riches, and sought refuge in wealth!” (Verses 5 – 7)

It would be nice to think and believe that those who have opposed me in such a way that hurts me would have their comeuppance. But life does not always work like that. Both tonight, in physical distress, and other times in the sorts of distress the psalmist is in I sought and craved this vindication and retribution against what harms/harmed me. But when that has not come, I have also found in God what the psalmist has found.

But I am like a green olive tree in the house of God.
I trust in the steadfast love of God forever and ever.
I will thank you forever, because of what you have done.
In the presence of the faithful I will proclaim your name, for it is good.” (Verses 6 – 9)

I would love to say more about being in the house of God, being protected, trusting in God, and thanking God for the Lord’s faithfulness. But it has taken all I have for tonight to produce this much. I am looking forward to rest and recuperation tonight, and trust in God that tomorrow I will be ready and capable of facing the day. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

