Season After Pentecost: The Gospel Passage – When healing comes

Now he was teaching in one of the synagogues on the sabbath. And just then there appeared a woman with a spirit that had crippled her for eighteen years. She was bent over and was quite unable to stand up straight. When Jesus saw her, he called her over and said, “Woman, you are set free from your ailment.” When he laid his hands on her, immediately she stood up straight and began praising God.” (Luke 13:10 – 13)

As I looked over the scripture passages for this week, I asked myself which one feels closer to where I am today. And of course, having dealt with a new aspect of my health today, I chose this one to write on. I had asked the Lord to heal me from this most recent ailment. But decided the Divine was pushing me to Urgent Care as opposed to a miracle. I may still be cured, and when the cure/healing comes, I am sure it will feel like a tremendous relief. But I am just starting on the course of treatment, and relief seems like a long way off. Would that it was instantaneous!

But the leader of the synagogue, indignant because Jesus had cured on the sabbath, kept saying to the crowd, “There are six days on which work ought to be done; come on those days and be cured, and not on the sabbath day.” But the Lord answered him and said, “You hypocrites! Does not each of you on the sabbath untie his ox or his donkey from the manger, and lead it away to give it water? And ought not this woman, a daughter of Abraham whom Satan bound for eighteen long years, be set free from this bondage on the sabbath day?” When he said this, all his opponents were put to shame; and the entire crowd was rejoicing at all the wonderful things that he was doing.” (Verses 14 -17)

I have not been ill for eighteen years, but it is getting close to that. And they have been long years. Through those years I have been praising God; not that I count that to my credit. The credit belongs the God’s Spirit who has walked with me. And even that God’s Spirit has been with me is not credit to me but to the perseverance of the Spirit that is steadfast.

I imagine too this “bent” woman had been coming to the synagogue faithfully and carrying out the prescribed practices of worshiping God. Do not think, beloved reader, that the spirit that crippled her had done in her spirit. She knew who to praise! And I suspect she knew who had healed her as well.

I have said before that I do not ask for and expect healing from the serious of my illness. This current relatively minor ear ache that I have right now aside, God has been faithful in getting me through each day. And I see a greater miracle in that then in instant healing. But do not let me dissuade you, beloved reader, from asking for healing for yourself. And may you praise God whenever the Lord touches your life. Selah!

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

Your comments are welcome

