Season After Pentecost: The Psalms Passage – The psalmist writes and the Lord speaks through the words

Sing aloud to God our strength; shout for joy to the God of Jacob. “ (Psalms 81:1)

Here it is, Sunday/Sabbath afternoon, and I am sitting down to write to you again beloved reader.

I am the Lord your God, who brought you up out of the land of Egypt.
Open your mouth wide and I will fill it.” (Verse 10)

After I read verse 10 I thought maybe this might be a psalm that Preacher and Seeker might enjoy doing. But the verses that came after dwelt on just one theme, and a theme more appropriate for using to preach with then read responsively. The psalmist has taken up the theme of God “complaining” about the chosen and called people. I can’t exactly precisely get behind the idea that God complains.

But my people did not listen to my voice; Israel would not submit to me.
So I gave them over to their stubborn hearts, to follow their own counsels.” (Verses 11 – 12)

Maybe laments is a more accurate term. And one that encompasses God’s wish that the Lord’s chosen and called people (that includes in history, throughout the generations and currently) would follow the Lord God.

“O that my people would listen to me, that Israel would walk in my ways!” (Verse 13)

We (that is, this generation of humanity) are also those that the Lord God is lamenting over. And we should hear and heed this lament. We should come back to the Lord – confess and repent to receive the Lord’s forgiveness because . . .

“Then I would quickly subdue their enemies, and turn my hand against their foes.
Those who hate the Lord would cringe before him, and their doom would last forever.” (Verses 14 – 15)

I encourage you beloved reader, to come before the Lord and confess whatever lays heavy on your heart, soul, and spirit. It need not be sin or any misstep you have done. Simply speak your mind and lay open you heart, soul, and spirit to the Lord God. The Lord will come to you and ease your distress and discomfort, for the Lord promises . . .

I would feed you with the finest of the wheat, and with honey from the rock I would satisfy you.” (Verse 16)

About Carole Boshart

I have two blogs on WordPress. "A Simple Desire" which is based on the daily "Sips of Scripture" published and sent out by Third Way Cafe. "Pondering From the Pacific" is based on my reflections on the world - sometimes religious/spiritual, and sometimes not so much.

One thought on “Season After Pentecost: The Psalms Passage – The psalmist writes and the Lord speaks through the words

  1. What a fine promise the Lord makes to us!

    Like

Your comments are welcome

